CD Reviews

Electric Boys - 'And Them Boys Done Swang' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 23, 2011    
0.0 (0)
8170   0   1   0   0   0




This is simply the Electric Boys at their best.

There are two possible scenarios following every band's reunion - in sort, it's simply make or break. While many legendary bands follow the second path, prompting their listeners to wonder whether to laugh or cry over the newly released records, Swedish funk metal legends Electric Boys have proven their class along with 'And Them Boys Done Swang', scheduled to be released on June the 3rd via Escape Music. After a long hiatus, preceded with the more hard rock oriented record 'Freewheelin' (1994), this time Conny Bloom and the boys once again went for a mix of hard rock and funk metal with a significant touch of 60s psychedelia and Beatles’ style while recording their latest album. The result has given the fans exactly what they could expect.

In fact, stylistically 'And Them Boys Done Swang' could be even a follow-up to the band's 1990 debut 'Funk-O- Metal Carpet Ride', the main difference being the obvious modern production of the album. Just check out opener 'Reeferlord', a straightforward rocker with groovy bass lines and galloping drumming - it’s Electric Boys’ style in its pure form. Vocal lines might recall Red Hot Chilli Peppers' Anthony Kiedis' style - but while such comparisons still ring true, it's performed well enough to make every listener react like 'Red Hot who?...' in the end. There's a plenty of such energetic tracks on the album, like 'My Heart's Not For Sale' or 'The House Is Rockin'. Known before from the Beatlesque vibe and psychedelic inspirations in their music, the boys incorporate this style once again into such tracks as 'Father Popcorn's Magic Oysters' and 'Ten Thousand Times Goodbye' - the latter being actually a mere definition of a Beatlesque ballad. 'Rollin' Down The Road' is probably the strongest song off the album, led by a groovy guitar riff and catchy chorus. Speaking of riffs, an intro to 'The Days The Gypsies Came To Town' is an outstanding one by any standard. 'And Them Boys Done Swang' features twelve songs in total, each delivering the strong rhythm section, funk riffs and perfect melodies. Nobody can sit still while listening to this album, and for sure there ain't no place for moody and dark atmospherics here.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

While the album lacks of commercial hit that could become the next 'All Lips 'N' Hips', it actually proves that Electric Boys don't need any such ‘hits’ anymore. 'And Them Boys Done Swang' delivers everything about their style, combining all the elements into the real explosive mixture of early 90s funk metal, 60s psychedelia, 70s hard rock and 'all killers - no fillers' recording philosophy. Following these simple principles, Electric Boys have made it loud and clear they're back in business, and ready for some boogie out there. And no doubt everyone who digs the band's classic style will ultimately join the dancing crowd - this is simply the Electric Boys at their best.

Alexandra Mrozowska

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site