CD Reviews

Wheels Of Fire - 'Up For Anything' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 08, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4753   0   1   0   0   0



An album that every self respecting Fireworks & Rocktopia reader should own.

Boy, have Avenue Of Allies ended 2012 with a bang! With fabulous new releases from Lionville and Sapphire Eyes hitting the racks as we speak; here’s another to add to that illustrious collection: the tremendous sophomore effort from Italian melodic rockers Wheels Of Fire. ‘Up For Anything’ continues the blueprint set down on their debut ‘Hollywood Rocks’ by celebrating everything that was special about melodic rock music/hair metal in the 80s. Indeed, their emphasis on instant hooks, sumptuous melodies and strong choruses has a certain early Bon Jovi quality about it. This is, however, a tougher sounding record than its predecessor, where the guitars and bass are far more prominent in the mix, which suits the new material extremely well and gives the album a much more contemporary edge.

After ‘Hollywood Rocks’ was released in 2010, the band was reduced to the nucleus of vocalist Davide “Dave Rox” Barbieri and guitarist Stefano Zeni. Since then they have built a stable line-up around them with Marcello Suzzani coming in on bass, Andrea Vergori on keyboards and Fabrizio Uccellini on drums. On the evidence of this masterful collection of melodic hard rock tunes, it’s abundantly clear that this line-up clearly has not only already gelled very well, but has that indefinable chemistry about it that many bands can only dream of. I really do believe that if they can stick together, this group of guys could be on the cusp of something really big.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

When the tinkling keys of album opener ‘Follow Your Heart’ give way to a strident riff and driving rhythm, it pretty much sets the tone for the entire album: upbeat, feel good rock tunes played with an infectious enthusiasm and more than a little panache to boot! ‘Don’t Walk Away’ with its delicious voice box refrain – perhaps strengthening my earlier Bon Jovi assertions – is already a firm favourite (House Of Lord’s fans will be interested to know that James Christian helps out on co-lead vox on this song; his wife, and rock chanteuse in her own right, Robin Beck also contributes backing vocals). ‘Turning Up The Radio’ with its hooky riff, soaring lead break and sing-along chorus has…ahem!…radio hit written all over it; ‘Pain’ rocks like a mother and ‘Web Of Lies’ builds from a gentle intro into a massive power ballad. I love the funked-up vibe to ‘Lay Your Body Down’; the juxtaposition of down-tuned guitars and sparking keyboards on ‘Respect’; the cod-blues of ‘Tell Me’ and the sass and swagger of ‘Yesterday’s Gone’; where the parping horn section provides an obvious ‘Permanent Vacation’ era Aerosmith reference point.

The sheer quality of ‘Up For Anything’ is such that I could go onto mention every song in glowing terms; but suffice to say this is an album that every, and I mean every, self respecting Fireworks  & Rocktopia reader should own. ‘Nuff said I think!

Alister Strachan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site