Stryper - 'The Covering' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 19, 2011    
0.0 (0)
4165   0   1   0   0   0





Covers album by Stryper.

Whatever your opinion of the covers album craze there's no denying that it's thrown up some interesting releases, my own personal bugbear being that the time spent making them could be better spent writing and recording some original material. It's well known from interviews that the members of Stryper are big rock fans (now back to the original line-up of Michael Sweet (vocals, guitar), Oz Fox (guitar), Robert Sweet (drums) and returning bassist Tim Gaines), particularly British bands of the 70s, so what they've sensibly done here is not pick anything too obscure and infuse everything with those unmistakable Stryper guitar and vocal harmonies. I also think from personal experience that covers albums are rarely played things that take up space on your shelf, but as this is an exercise to show Stryper fans where their heroes came from musically, there's nothing too outlandish here and you can easily see how a liking of most of these bands led to the music of Stryper.

Strangely, one of the songs I was most looking forward to and one of my own personal favourites, The Sweet's 'Set Me Free', gets this album off to a false start, lacking the energy and power of the original, but that's about the only gripe you'll get from me. Other early British bands include a fairly faithful rendition of Led Zeppelin's 'Immigrant Song' and the Purple classic 'Highway Star' (complete with killer Hammond and twin guitar solos), then to move on kind of chronologically we get to UFO's 'Lights Out', Priest's 'Breaking The Law' and a superb version of Sabbath's 'Heaven & Hell'. By this time, of course, the US had already started exerting an influence with those trademark Stryper harmonies and twin lead solos all over the Kansas classic 'Carry On Wayward Son' and a pretty cool 'Shout It Out Loud' from the Kiss catalogue, whilst it's a neat touch to record 'On Fire' from the first seminal Van Halen record with the guitar in one channel like the original.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The only non UK/US track here is Scorpions' 'Blackout' and it's one of only three tracks from the 80', along with Ozzy's 'Over The Mountain' and Maiden's 'The Trooper', the latter of which may well be the tightest and most impressive version here. The album ends with a Stryper original, and 'God' is musically fantastic and upbeat but has the kind of Christian message in the lyrics that puts off non believers.

With a sharp production that's maybe just a tad light on the drums, what Stryper have done here is walk a line between the originals and the early Stryper sound, although obviously the biggest difference on some is the voice of Michael Sweet, which soars higher than he has in years and proves he's still got the pipes. I doubt it'll bring them many new fans but it should at least bring them some much overdue respect.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site