CD Reviews

Bullet - 'The Entrance To Hell' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 20, 2011    
0.0 (0)
8519   0   1   0   0   0




In storage for 40 years, the songs see the light of day for the first time.

When guitarist/vocalist John Du Cann and drummer Paul Hammond were unceremoniously sacked from Atomic Rooster (despite the fact that Du Cann had written the bulk of their previous album), the pair went on to form the band Bullet with bassist John Gustafson. Only after the trio had spent some time recording material for their debut album, which was to be released on Purple Records, was it discovered that there was already a US band also called Bullet, causing a swift rethink. The name Hard Stuff was settled on and while some of the Bullet material was re-recorded for their debut album, Hard Stuff set about writing new songs and the Bullet sessions quickly became forgotten.

Forgotten maybe, but not lost, with Du Cann keeping the recordings in storage for 40 years with them now seeing the light of day for the first time. The seventeen songs here (although 'Door Opens' and 'Door Slams' clocking in at twelve seconds combined are exactly what their titles suggest!) represent an excellent snapshot of what still makes 70's rock as captivating now as it was back then, combining a more guitar based mixture of Uriah Heep, Captain Beyond and unsurprisingly Atomic Rooster. Rough, brash and full of vigour, these energetic songs suggest that had Bullet been allowed to mature, then they were certainly good enough to make a lasting impression on the scene. Du Cann is both a charismatic vocalist and a fine guitarist whose talents seem to have been forgotten over the years, but his solid, fiery fret work is certainly worthy of attention, as he brings a huge amount of emotion and energy to these tracks. That's not to underplay the contributions of Gustafson or Hammond, with both allowed the freedom to stamp their own personalities on the music, which they do with serious intent.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Take your pick from 'The Soul That I Had', 'No Witch At All' or 'Sinister Minister' for great examples of the bluesy groove that Bullet created. It would however be unfair to suggest that they were a one trick pony, with the urgency of 'Millionaire' bringing out a heavier side to the trio, while 'Monster In Paradise', which was co-written by Gustafson with Ian Gillan and Roger Glover (Gustafson later went on to join the Ian Gillan Band), having a slow steady stomp that, as you would expect, sounds like a rougher Deep Purple.

As always from Angel Air Records, the liner notes are well worth reading, covering everything from Du Cann and Hammond's time in Atomic Rooster, right through to what happened after Bullet and everything in between, which adds to the historical value of the disc.

'The Entrance To Hell' doesn't quite hit the standard that suggests that Bullet were ready to spar with the big boys of seventies rock, but as a starting point it does show that they weren't too far away and it's a shame that they didn't stick around longer.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 hours, 57 minutes ago
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site