The Who - 'Isle Of Wight 2004'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 11, 2018    
0.0 (0)
121   0   1   0   0   0



The Who continue to find new relevance with younger fans through every show they perform.

The last time The Who played the Isle Of Wight Festival was in 1970, back then they were a four-piece including drummer Keith Moon and bass player John Entwistle. Now, alongside singer Roger Daltrey and guitarist Pete Townshend, you have famed session bass player Pino Palladino, Pete's brother Simon Townshend on guitar, Ringo Starr's son Zac Starkey on drums and long-term keyboardist John "Rabbit" Bundrick.

Also released individually on both Blu-ray and DVD format, this DVD/2CD edition comes in a gatefold cover with a small booklet detailing the show. The audio discs feature the same tracks as the DVD, but sadly there are no extras (such as interviews) on either edition of the DVD to enhance it.

I will concentrate on the DVD as this will be of the most interest to fans of the band. The capacity audience comes alive as a sea of bouncing bodies emerge during the opening number 'I Can't Explain'. For the most part, the camera focuses on Daltrey and Pete Townsend. Starkey has his moments as he tries to emulate Moon's sonic onslaught to varying degrees of success. The stage is small with no backdrop, just the band intimately doing their thing.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There are energetic run throughs of classics such as 'Who Are You' and 'Behind Blue Eyes', while Pete Townshend lets rip a few trademark windmill guitar moments, reminding us of his once aggressive stage presence (though the days of smashing up instruments are long behind him). However, he still spits out his vocal parts when needed, even taking the lead on 'Eminence Front', one of only two songs from their lacklustre eighties period.

Daltrey, in his sixties at this point, still delivers the goods, swinging microphones and bellowing out vocals through 'Baba O'Riley' and '5:15'. Both Daltrey and Pete Townshend exchange cocky, knowing glances at their moments of brilliance, especially during the majestic 'Love Reign O'er Me' – one of the highlights of the show.

The quieter moments, notably during 'Drowned', has Pete Townshend alone with his acoustic guitar not relying on the band's live thunder to propel him along. Deep cuts such as 'Naked Eye' and 'Old Red Wine' have the audience in a more sombre mood, before 'Won't Get Fooled Again' and 'Pinball Wizard' bring everyone to their feet.

The Who continue to find new relevance with younger fans through every show they perform, with the Isle Of Wight being no exception.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 2 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us