DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Status Quo - 'The Last Night Of The Electrics' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/e1/b5/a2/status-quo-the-last-night-of-the-electrics-85-1520798476.jpg

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 11, 2018    
0.0 (0)
129   0   1   0   0   0

It's more a tribute to Parfitt's greatness than an essential Status Quo addition.

Usually you know what you're getting with a Status Quo live show, the guys will come out, open the show with 'Caroline' and then proceed to blast through countless hits and signature tunes which are impossible not to tap your feet to. Francis Rossi will indulge in some amusing between song banter, he and Rick Parfitt will share lead vocal duties while driving out that twin guitar sound which nobody can match. Like the name suggests, that is the status quo, it doesn't change.

This release proves the exception to the rule. Originally recorded to document the end of the band as an electric unit, with the success of their 'Aquostic' albums looking to herald a new touring format, the most noticeable thing here is Parfitt's absence. He had suffered a heart attack in Turkey and had been told not to tour anymore as his health just wasn't up to it. The rest of the band chose to perform the remaining contracted shows with Richie Malone stepping in to cover rhythm guitar duties. Parfitt would tragically pass away not long after the tour was completed, making his absence here even more glaring.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The rest of the band do everything right. 'Caroline' kicks things off, Rossi fronts the band with his usual good humour, Malone fills in admirably on guitar and bassist John "Rhino" Edwards covers the majority of Parfitt's vocal parts, with keyboard player Andy Bown chipping in here and there too. The band really pull together as drummer Leon Cave keeps the tempo high. There's no shortage of great songs – 'Paper Plane', 'Whatever You Want', 'Roll Over Lay Down', 'Rain', 'Down Down'... they're all here.

What isn't here though is the indefinable thing Parfitt brought. While Malone does nothing wrong, it isn't until Bown comes out from behind the keyboards and adds a third guitar to the mix that it starts to sound like the old Quo. Such was Parfitt's power as a rhythm player, it takes two men to truly emulate his sound.

The latest news is Quo are going to plug in and carry on electrically after all. While I'm delighted that they will persevere, with this recording showing they are still more than capable of delivering a great show, inevitably Parfitt's passing has robbed the band of some of the magic. It's more a tribute to Parfitt's greatness than an essential Status Quo addition.

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 2 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us