CD Reviews

Cairo - 'Say'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 13, 2018    
0.0 (0)
35   0   1   0   0   0






On this evidence, the UK has a fine new Progressive Rock/Metal act to be proud of.

The man behind new Prog Rock act Cairo is former Touchstone vocalist and keyboard player Rob Cottingham. He decided that he needed an outlet for his heavier musical writing tendencies and Cairo seemed to fit that bill. He then set about forming a group to make his vision come true. Enter Rachel Hill on vocals, James Hards on guitars, Paul Stoker on bass and Graham Brown on drums, plus their unofficial sixth member, producer and all round good guy Jon Mitchell who it has to be said has once again worked his production magic to make this album sound simply amazing.

The music that lives on 'Say' is as stated, much heavier in many respects from what Cottingham was doing with Touchstone and Captain Blue, but he's also added a lot of ambient qualities to the Cairo musical mix. This gives the album a different overall sound than the one you'd usually expect to find on any normal (?) Prog album. Ironically, beginning the album with three slow musical passages (one, a spoken word story) at first doesn't set the world on fire. It's not until the fourth track, 'Wiped Out', that we actually get to hear Hill for the first time. However, when the band do start playing the actual songs, that's where the real magic starts to happen.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Wiped Out', 'Say', the Riverside-esque 'Nothing To Prove' and the stunning 'Katrina' (a song dedicated to those who lost their lives and those who survived the terrible hurricane that hit New Orleans) show us a band that knows what it takes and what's needed to make great sounding Prog. This genre of music has many diverse layers and textures that urge repeated listens to make sure you get the most out of what you're listening to. Also, the musicianship of the band throughout the album must be given high praise as each band member brings their all to the table to help make this opus sound the best it possibly could.

On this evidence, the UK has a fine new Progressive Rock/Metal act to be proud of. Hopefully, Cairo will go on from this excellent beginning and continue to write and record great sounding Progressive Rock music. I'm sure with Cottingham's vision and drive, they will go far.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us