CD Reviews

Favni - 'Windswept'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 13, 2018    
0.0 (0)
51   0   1   0   0   0






An album that can warm our musical soul.

'Windswept' is actually Favni's third full-length release but their first under their new moniker of Favni. Previously, the group was known as Fauns and released Progressive music with albums 'Leaf Fall' and 'Awaiting The Sun'. This album continues the unique signatures of Folk Rock and Progressive Rock elements with rootsy overtones. A double album, 'Windswept' is a complete musical journey into a world of harmony with voice and instrumentation. Yes, of course the mainstay of Rock instruments are present; electric guitars, drums and bass, all enhanced with acoustic instruments and strings (we hear viola and flute dancing through the group's movements). Now combine these with the siren-like vocals of Kirsten Middeke and we can touch upon more Medieval Folk expressions that seamlessly build into modern, Progressive oceans of sound.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

As we journey through this double disc, there are many magical moments. Moments of whimsical meanderings which entice our aural senses. A vast soundscape is laid bare before us, in which we can sail upon varied rivers, all deep with textured undertones that are both calming and exciting. There are creations that envelope and surround the listener with swift currents and deep pools of contemplation. 'Windswept' must be listened to deeply – it's a complete sonic experiencing from the opening flutters to the fading, falling notes. It's truly immersive and inviting. As the title implies, we are swept forward on a musical bed that travels upon a vast music-scape and touches upon many styles, all performed melodically and with energetic strength.

At times, the winds of sonic brilliance move us into a dream like state, one that leaves us refreshed and strangely inspired. 'Windswept' is undoubtedly serious music for serious music lovers. It draws you in, holding you within the harmonious currents with soothing washes of sound that are rich and deep. It's an album that can warm our musical soul!

Bruce E.J. Atkinson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us