CD Reviews

Motörhead - 'The World Is Yours' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 27, 2011    
0.0 (0)
3212   0   1   0   0   0




'The World Is Yours' does exactly what you'd expect.

Governments come and go, mighty empires emerge from parochial backwaters only to crash and burn in the purifying flames of progress, but Motorhead … ahh, Motorhead will endure forever.

Formed in 1975 when Ian 'Lemmy' Kilmister was given the boot from space cadets Hawkwind following a much publicized brush with Canadian customs over certain illegal substances, Motorhead grabbed life by the balls and have been squeezing hard ever since. Widely acknowledged as godfathers of the hard rock meets punk movement that eventually morphed into the NWOBHM, their no frills brand of riff driven rock n' roll has been shaking audiences for more than three decades now, and whilst their fifteen minutes of fame in the public eye is well and truly over ('Ace Of Spades' still brings a lump to the ol' throat), they show no signs of stopping any time soon.

Initiating the Motorhead marque with their caustic, self titled debut in 1977 (although technically speaking, 'On Parole' was recorded first), their parameters have changed very little over the years (apart from the odd foible like '1916' that is) … keep it simple, kick 'em hard in the balls, and if they don't like it, fuck em! Quite why this recipe for success has endured for so long I don't know (maybe I should put the same question to AC/DC?), but they made a lasting impression on me when I was a kid, and it seems to have stuck. Lets face it, Motorhead were raising hell when the likes of Motley Crue and Guns N' Roses were still in diapers, and that anti establishment cool has never diminished.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Incredibly, as we shuffle from the bitterly cold wake of 2010 into the economic gloom of 2011, Motorhead are about to unleash their twentieth (yes twentieth!) studio album on the unwashed hordes. Follow up to 2008's abrasive 'Motorizer' set, 'The World Is Yours' is the latest batch of bitches brew to emerge from the Motorhead camp, and with titles such as 'Born To Lose', 'Outlaw' and 'Waiting For The Snake' it should be abundantly clear that advancing years still haven't dulled their attack one iota. Barbed riffs, down and dirty solos and those trademark guttural vocals still characterize an album that's as belligerent as ever … although you have to ask yourselves, would we really want it any other way?

As I said earlier, there's something primal and timeless about that iconic image of Lemmy with his trusty Rickenbacker – let's face it, there aren't many OAP's who could carry off a beer commercial and come out of it with an enhanced 'cool' factor amongst its target demographic, but that's just what Lemmy does and the same applies to 'The World Is Yours' in spades. Will it win them many new fans? … probably not in the grand scheme of things, but in its quest to keep the Motorhead faithful happy, 'The World Is Yours' does exactly what you'd expect.

Raise a glass to the old reprobates because most bands less than half their age would sell their right arm to get as much angst and energy into their next album!

Dave Cockett

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//
  • Berny : Download Fireworks #82 for FREE, incl. all 88 songs and the bonus magazine. Just go to "Free Downloads" in the TOP menu. : - >
  • Berny : Fireworks #83 is out NOW!
  • Rocktopia Te : Exclusive MOONSPELL UK video premiere on Rocktopia: Check out the latest news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site