CD Reviews

Warrior - 'Warrior'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 14, 2018    
0.0 (0)
35   0   1   0   0   0







An important footnote in Rock 'n' Roll history.

Not to be confused with the other band called Warrior (who released 'Fighting For The Earth' in 1985), this Warrior was a project put together in 1982 by Boston AOR legends New England, a band who had their debut album produced by Kiss legend Paul Stanley – one of a number of a Kiss connections that this band was to have.

New England shared management with Kiss and it was Gene Simmons who recommended the then unknown guitar player Vincent John Cusano – soon to become Vinnie Vincent. He had been helping Kiss with their album 'Creatures Of The Night' when original guitar player Ace Frehley was all but out of the band, though his face does grace the sleeve and he was involved in certain aspects of promotion, including the 'I Love It Loud' video.

New England loved what they heard and got to work on demos with Vincent, bringing in singer Fergie Frederiksen (who would find fame with Toto) later on to allow Vincent to concentrate on guitar. Sadly for Warrior, Vincent was eventually enlisted into the ranks of Kiss with a new set of make-up, while some of Warrior's remaining members eventually teamed up with former Rainbow singer Graham Bonnet for what would become Alcatrazz.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

Most of the first six demos here were considered by Kiss for recording, though the majority ended up on the first Vinnie Vincent Invasion record. These include 'Boys Gonna Rock', 'Back On The Street' (that had very little changed) and 'Baby Oh Why' which is a more subdued version when compared to former Journey singer Robert Fleischman's helium-tinged vocals on the Vinnie Vincent Invasion release.

Tracks seven to eleven are instrumental versions showcasing Vincent's extraordinary guitar skills, while the remaining five songs are the band in rehearsals with Frederiksen who give the songs a whole new dimension and a glimpse of what the band could have become. These songs have been bouncing around in unofficial versions for some time, but now get an official release with an informative colour booklet. Overall, this an important footnote in Rock 'n' Roll history.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by