CD Reviews

The Wildhearts - 'Earth VS The Wildhearts' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 28, 2011    
0.0 (0)
4472   0   1   0   0   0

A landmark album in British heavy rock history.

Over the years there has been enough scandal, intrigue, splits, reunions, record company wrangles, drug fuelled capers and magazine office trashings by The Wildhearts to just about fill an entire issue of Fireworks. However, more importantly Ginger and the merry revolving door of musicians that have made up the band, have in between all that, somehow managed to knock out some of the smartest, melody infused aggressive rock and roll of the last two decades. Formed in 1990 after Ginger was thrown out of The Quireboys (for being too wild!), it took The Wildhearts two years of line up shuffles and two front men (including the late Snake of Tobruk) before Ginger decided to take lead vocal duties on himself and things got going for real. 

After releasing two EPs, The Wildhearts made their full debut with the stunningly uncompromising 'Earth Vs The Wildhearts' in 1993, which is still an amazing blend of razor sharp hooks married to earth-shattering riffs, and a punky in your face attitude with ever so smart pop sensibility. The resulting songs being so catchy that they've absolutely no right being as downright dangerous as they are. Everywhere you turn on this album the class just oozes from the speakers, with album opener 'Greetings From Shitsville' setting the tone with the trademark abrasive guitar work of Ginger and ex Tattooed Love Boys guitarist CJ, the pounding bass lines of Danny and the intricate, busy, yet pinpoint drumming from Stidi. The uncompromising subject matter and the irresistibly memorable choruses fused onto some of the best riffs you've ever heard, would also be themes that would make The Wildhearts fans some of the most loyal any band could hope to have. 'TV Tan' continues the bleak lyrical theme, but it's Ginger's ability to set them to a strangely harsh, but somehow compellingly melodic backdrop that really singles The Wildhearts out as a simply one of a kind band. Who else could borrow the chorus line from the Beatles 'Day Tripper' and follow it up with the line "Prick Teaser...yeah", as they do on the charmingly and no doubt honestly titled 'My Baby Is A Headfuck'? That song segues into the Motorhead inspired 'Suckerpunch', which still stands up as a standard in the band's live set to this day and illustrates the more ferocious side of The Wildhearts perfectly, just as 'News Of The World' and anti-love song 'Love You Till I Don't' show the band at their melodic best. This re-issue also includes the stuttering chorused stand alone single 'Caffeine Bomb', which as a chart bothering release, was added to later issues of this album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The first of four 2 disc reissues from Lemon Recordings, 'Earth Vs...' comes with a full disc of bonus material including the two under rated four track EP's 'Mondo Akimbo A-Go-Go' and 'Don't be Happy...Just Worry', which feature Bam (Dogs D'Amour) on drums, before the record label East West insisted on him being ousted from the band. Also featured are the three b'sides to the 'TV Tan' single and as any long term fan will tell you, the one thing that The Wildhearts have never scrimped on is the quality of their extra tracks, with 'And The Bullshit Goes On' and 'Show A Little Emotion' being as good as anything that made the album itself.

'Earth Vs The Wildhearts' is a landmark album in British heavy rock history and deserves to find a place in the collection of anyone who is inspired by glorious melodies and face melting riffs, and for any Wildhearts fan who doesn't have the bonus material, this is a no brainer.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 12 hours ago
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site