The Wildhearts - 'P.H.U.Q.' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 28, 2011    
0.0 (0)
4607   0   1   0   0   0



The Wildhearts' second full release.

Having initially been conceived as a double album (the longer, more adventurous tracks became this album's predecessor 'Fishing For Luckies'), the provocatively titled 'P.H.U.Q.' was The Wildhearts second full release and by the time it hit the shelves in 1995, the cracks within the band were already beginning to become really obvious. Rich Battersby was now manning the drum stool, with both Stidi and Bam (no, not characters from The Flinstones) having flitted in and out of the band for (almost) the last time, guitarist CJ being unceremoniously shown the door during the recording of the album and Ginger going public about having considered suicide. Not that you've have known from the quality of the music on show. 

Personally I don't think that 'P.H.U.Q.' quite matches either 'Earth Vs The Wildhearts' in terms of vitality or raw aggression, or the scope and variety of the song writing on 'Fishing For Luckies', however it does have to be said that the more straight forward song approach of the majority of the tracks on this album does make it the favourite of many Wildhearts fans. The likes of 'Caprice', 'In Lilly's Garden' or 'Jonesing For Jones' show a more restrained side to the band's usual 100 miles an hour approach and come off surprisingly well. The mighty wallop of 'Whoa Shit, You Got Through' and 'Nita Nitro' make sure that the adrenalin still fires through this album though, however it is the pair of singles 'Just In Lust' and 'I Wanna Go Where The People Go' that really stand out. The former is a classic Wildhearts shout along anthem that illustrates the clever arrangements that the band have always employed, while the latter is the sort of up an' at 'em smack of riffed up melody that should start any album. The addition of Willie Dowling (The Grip, Jackdaw4) on keyboards, would add another dimension to The Wildhearts sound, although in truth rather than piling on layers of keys, his work on the album takes on the role of quiet embellishment and just adds to the melody that the band had always strived to infuse their music with. Either way, by the time the album was released Dowling had departed to team up with the jettisoned CJ in the highly successful, if short lived Honeycrack. CJ's departure would prove to be a real stumbling point for the band as they finished the album and played a few dates as a three piece, as finding a replacement proved amazingly difficult. First Devin Townsend helped out on stage before The Senseless Things Mark Keds jumped aboard. It seemed like a strange marriage and so it proved with Keds' only recorded performance being on the b'sides to the 'Just In Lust' single, before he failed to return from a trip to Japan for the band's headline show at The Phoenix Festival. Let down and embarrassed, The Wildhearts had to cancel their appearance.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The bonus disc this time round gathers together all the extra tracks from the aforementioned 'Just In Lust' and 'I Wanna Go Where The People Go' releases, as well as those that features on the 'Sick Of Drugs' and 'Red Light, Green Light' singles. The pick of the crop this time being 'Can't Do Right For Doing Wrong', 'Friend For Five Minutes' and the scathing 'All American Home Boy Crowd', any of which could have made the main album.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site