Europe / King King (Nottingham) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 02, 2018    
0.0 (0)
1397   0   1   0   0   0



Europe / King King - Rock City, Nottingham (UK) - 18 September 2018

Before tonight's show, I had never really listened to King King and I'm really not sure why because by the time they reached the chorus of their opening song, '(She Don't) Gimme No Lovin'', I was absolutely hooked. Their brand of highly melodic Blues Rock is very easy on the ear and their relaxed, no-frills approach is extremely entertaining, and as a healthy portion of Rock City was very welcoming to the band and seemed very familiar with them, I've definitely been missing out. Alan Nimmo's wonderful voice made me think of an amalgamation of Steve Overland, Danny Bowes and Paul Rodgers, and his guitar playing was off the scale as we were treated to some stunning melodic, fluid and lengthy solos during 'Waking Up', 'You Stopped The Rain', Lose Control', the moody 'Rush Hour' as well as the ballads 'A Long History Of Love' and the immense 'Stranger To Love'. After witnessing a very enjoyable opening set, King King definitely have another fan to add to their ever-increasing army of admirers.

I've always thought that Europe are one of the most interesting Rock bands on the planet because all of their albums have a different feel and you never know which direction they are going to take; in addition, they are still a massively entertaining live act. Thirty-plus years down the line and Joey Tempest still moves around like it's 1986, and while he may not be able to sing quite as high as he did back in the eighties, he's still a completely engaging front-man. As bassist John Levén and guitarist John Norum rarely strayed from their positions, the stage was Tempest's to dominate and only the low ceiling of Rock City prevented him from swinging his microphone stand around quite as much as he usually does.

With eleven albums under their belt during their thirty-plus year history, Europe have an absolute wealth of material to choose from, and they don't always go for the most obvious selections. As this tour is still promoting 2017's 'Walk The Earth' album, they opened up with the title track and followed it with 'The Seige', but it was something of a surprise that the classic 'Rock The Night' appeared so early in the set, however, it incited the first big sing-along of the night.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Quite a lot of Europe's songs tend to sit in the mid-tempo range so it was refreshing that some of their pacier numbers like 'Hole In My Pocket', 'Firebox', 'GTO', 'Ready Or Not' and the absolute classic 'Scream Of Anger' were interspersed amongst the more dramatic material like 'Last Look At Eden', 'War Of Kings', 'Turn To Dust' and 'Nothin' To Ya'. The ballad 'New Love In Town' is one of my favourite Europe songs and was a wonderful addition to the set alongside the evergreen 'Carrie', while the 'Out Of This World' album was surprisingly requisitioned for selections, namely the aforementioned 'Ready Or Not', 'Sign Of The Times' and 'Superstitious' – the latter incorporating a snippet of Whitesnake's 'Here I Go Again' to close the main set.

Ian Haugland's thunderous drum intro to 'Cherokee' signalled the beginning of the encore, which then paved the way for the inevitable 'The Final Countdown' to blow the ceiling off Rock City and end another quite brilliant concert from one of Sweden's greatest exports. One thing's for sure, Europe definitely Rocked this night!

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site