Concert Reviews

Three Days Grace / Bad Wolves Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 22, 2018    
0.0 (0)
1069   0   1   0   0   0

Three Days Grace / Bad Wolves - The O2 Ritz, Manchester (UK) - 09 October 2018

Due to extensive roadworks in and around Manchester city centre I was late for the Bad Wolves support set but arrived just in time to catch the last song. Their cover of the Cranberries 'Zombie' was very popular several months ago, and as a result, the profile of the five-piece rose considerably. If I'm honest, I prefer the Breed 77 take, although I seemed to be in a minority inside the packed Ritz as lighters, mobile phones and voices were all raised to join in with the song. It was noticeable that the crowd thinned slightly before Three Days Grace took to the stage, but as the temperature in the room was a million degrees to begin with, there were no complaints from me as I ventured forward to take my place in the photo pit for the first three songs.

Bon Jovi's 'Livin' On A Prayer' encouraged great audience participation before Three Days Grace made their way on to the stage and began the show with 'The Mountain', a new song from the recent 'Outsider' album. That release was something of a mixed bag for me and the band's identity seems to have been changing in recent years, due I'm sure to the influences of former My Darkest Days vocalist Matt Walst who joined a few years back following the departure of Adam Gontier.

Three Days Grace Live 3

Though he did share some writing credits on the earlier albums, the sound has taken on a slightly more Pop edge, even though in the live environment it retains some of the aggression associated with the first four Gontier-fronted albums. The set was a nice mix of older and more recent songs and it was good to see Walst embrace the band's past by singing favourites with as much passion as the songs from 2015's 'Human' and this year's 'Outsider'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Home', 'The Good Life' and 'Pain' were greeted like long-lost friends and 'Infra-Red' (also from 'Outsider') made me re-assess my original opinion of this year's release. I could have done without the Phantogram 'You Don't Get Me High Anymore' cover, as I don't think the song is particularly good, but the acoustic versions of 'Love Me Or Leave Me' and 'Get Out Alive' were a welcome addition to the set and highlighted the band's versatility. I was surprised we only got 'Painkiller' from the 'Human' album as some of its songs went down really well the last time they toured the UK in the early part of 2016.

Three Days Grace Live 2

Drummer Neil Sanderson and bass player Brad Walst (Matt's brother) were a rock-solid rhythm section, but I would have preferred guitarist Barry Stock to have been slightly higher in the mix. Into the home stretch and there was no doubt about which songs would be included. 'I Hate Everything About You' and 'Animal I Have Become' were anthemic in their delivery, and the classy ballad 'Never Too Late' even brought a tear to the eye (though it might have actually been sweat running down my brow). 'Riot' closed proceedings in raucous fashion and then it was a relief to get back out into the fresh air, away from the heat and pungent aromas.

Three Days Grace Live 1

Three Days Grace were very good tonight and though they don't seem to carry the weight of some other high profile American Modern/Alternative Rock bands, the songs they have in their arsenal are (in the main) high quality and memorable, and that means an awful lot.

Review and photos by Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site