CD Reviews

Joe Bonamassa - 'Redemption' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 06, 2018    
0.0 (0)
2865   0   1   0   0   0





Somewhere in his Nashville home, Joe Bonamassa's laurels remain completely untouched and caked in layers of dust. He may have dragged Blues Rock into the 21st century, cementing his reputation as a modern-day guitar hero in the process, but Bonamassa simply refuses to rest on them... ever.

Since hooking up with producer Kevin Shirley for 2006's 'You & Me', Bonamassa has steadily evolved into a first-rate song-smith. Both 2014's 'Different Shades Of Blue' and follow-up effort 'Blues Of Desperation' (the guitarist's first two albums of wholly original material) were the work of someone who, although mostly shining in familiar territory, had really hit his stride as a writer.

'Redemption' is, therefore, the American's third consecutive record of entirely self-penned tunes and, in contrast to those earlier releases, it finds him pushing the envelope to stunning effect. Sublimely composed, wonderfully performed and passionately visceral, it's a sprawling juggernaut that confidently zigzags all over the musical map without sacrificing cohesion.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Painting with colours both old and new, the swaggering 'Evil Mama' marries thudding Blues Rock grooves and glint-eyed brass parps to a soulful chorus that stings like a scorpion. Meanwhile, the horn-fired rocket ride 'King Bee Shakedown' and Gospel-tinted highway anthem 'Deep In The Blues Again' epitomise how this record's various elements – from imagery drenched lyrics to divine instrumental textures and perfectly judged guitar solos – coalesce to conjure the distinct mood of each song with an almost supernatural synergy.

Elsewhere, delightful left-field flavours invigorate both the sozzled jazzy tumble of 'Pick Up The Pieces' and 'The Ghost Of Macon Jones', a shuffling Gothic Folk rocker which recalls nineties Nick Cave, while 'Molly O' is an epic folklore monolith that could be Bonamassa's 'Mountain Climbing' and Led Zeppelin's 'Kashmir' wrestling a pissed off tsunami together.

However, what makes this record a potential classic is its strong thematic backbone. Blending personal storytelling and fictional tales, these songs revolve around characters who, whether grief-stricken victims or wrongdoers wracked with contrition, are searching for deliverance. 'Self-Inflicted Wounds' is particularly poignant as its raw, confessional candour recalls the guitarist's recent quest for salvation in his own life.

'Redemption' is a powerhouse artistic statement from someone who's just made the finest, most completely realised album of his career. Not to blow too much smoke up his suit-clad backside, but if you're familiar with Joe Bonamassa's past work, you'll know that's no small feat.

Simon Ramsay

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site