Concert Reviews

Tyketto / Kane'd (Manchester 2019) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 20, 2019    
0.0 (0)
2802   0   1   0   0   0



Tyketto / Kane'd - O2 Academy, Manchester (UK) - 10 March 2019

Kane'd were taking the ovation of a near capacity audience by the time I arrived at The Academy.

I have to say that I was surprised to learn that Tyketto were playing the whole of their 'Strength In Numbers' album live, celebrating its twenty-fifth anniversary. As good as an album as it is, it is no 'Don't Come Easy'. However, as with everything that Danny Vaughn, and the rest of the Tyketto boys do, it was done with a touch of class.

One thing I did enjoy, was the fact that they did not play the album in its original running order. An early highlight was the phenomenal 'Meet Me In The Night', arguably the strongest song on the sophomore release. There is definitely a greater eclectic style of songs on 'Strength...' and although they were each played with a great deal of passion, it lacked the normal flow of a Tyketto show; not that you would notice by the ultra-positive crowd reaction. Vaughn, ever the entertainer, spent time between tracks talking to the fans, à la "an evening with Tyketto". As deep as some of the cuts were, the rarest had to be 'Wait Forever', the B-side to 'End Of The Summer Days', which was played immediately before. I have to confess that it was the first time that I had heard this gem, although I doubt I was standing alone...

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The Kane sisters (Steph, Stacey, and Chez) joined the band on stage for a rendition of 'Wings', which was first performed in Wales last year for the DVD/Live album 'We've Got Tomorrow, We've Got Tonight' Although I was impressed with the ladies' harmonies, I was disappointed with the version and much prefer the original, which to me is an all-time classic (apologies to my editor).

'Ain't That Love' emphasised that Tyketto always enjoy themselves on stage, whilst the main set was drawn to a vehement and more traditional climax with the one-two-three of 'Rescue Me', 'Strength In Numbers' and 'Forever Young'. The latter would normally signal the end of the show, but the band returned for a three song encore, commencing with the brilliant 'The Last Sunset'. The title track from the last studio album, 2016's 'Reach' was another surprise inclusion (I had expected another from the debut album), before the show came to a fitting conclusion with a sensational performance of 'Standing Alone'.

Four days later I witnessed the band play almost the same show ('Big Money' replacing 'Wings') to an even larger audience at HRH-AOR, in North Wales. If anything, that show was even better!

Review by Mark Donnelly

Setlist: Inherit the Wind / Meet Me In The Night / All Over Me / Catch My Fall / The End Of The Summer Days / Wait Forever / Wings (With Steph, Stacey, and Chez Kane) / Ain't That Love / Write Your Name In The Sky / Why Do You Cry? / Rescue Me / Strength In Numbers / Forever Young
Encore: The Last Sunset / Reach / Standing Alone

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 hours, 14 minutes ago
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site