Greg Lake - 'Greg Lake' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 09, 2011    
0.0 (0)
3533   0   1   0   0   0





Re-issue of Greg Lake's eclectic album.

Back in 1979 after the break-up of Emerson, Lake & Palmer singer/bassist Greg Lake found himself at a loose end, and having taken a strained band situation as far as humanly possible it seemed like a solo career was the best option. Recruiting friends like successful guitarist Gary Moore, Sensational Alex Harvey Band/MSG drummer Ted McKenna, bassist Tristan Margetts and latter day SAHB keyboardist Tommy Eyre, Lake set about making his first solo album. However, he didn't really have any idea what direction he wanted to go in, as this CD re-issue of his first self-titled album shows. Some of the recording was also done in L.A. with celebrated session musicians like guitarist Snuffy Walden and Toto members Steve Lukather, David Hungate and Jeff Porcaro.

Whilst Lake is far too talented a musician and writer to have done anything truly bad, he'd just come out of the much-maligned ELP era that gave us the bands least well received albums, 'Works Vol. 2' and 'Love Beach', on which the band had also seemed confused about their own direction. 'Greg Lake' has some gems, the aggressive opener 'Nuclear Attack' was certainly one with a rich vocal from Lake and some fiery playing from all concerned, although Gary Moore would go on to do his own version that became better known. Similarly 'Retribution Drive' was another upbeat rocker with Moore's classy guitar and a great breakdown, whilst the ballads 'It Hurts' and 'Let Me Love You Once Before You Go' had memorable choruses and sublime musicianship despite their excessive cheesiness.

Elsewhere things didn't work so well, with the repetitious and poppy Bob Dylan cast-off 'Love You Too Much' sounding more like Wings at their most average, the lyrics of 'Black And Blue' being overly soppy and 'The Lie' being confused and directionless despite some good work from Moore and drummer Ted McKenna. However, there were good bits in the more ELP sounding 'Someone' (complete with a sax solo from the great Clarence Clemons) and the simple acoustic based rock and roller 'Long Goodbye', whilst the military drumbeat, synthesised bagpipes and spoken words of the closing track 'For Those Who Dare' were truly bizarre.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Greg Lake' was an eclectic album but suffered from the fact that the different styles didn't really flow together, with Lake seemingly unsure what to do with his main collaborator and leaving Gary Moore to improvise over the songs, with mixed results. On the plus side it's a well produced album with a few highlights that the remaster has done well to bring out, although for once the sleeve notes from Malcolm Dome don't have enough detail and Lake himself seems unable to give any insight as to why the album ended up being what it was. A confusing but interesting album whose release has been made all the more poignant by the recent sad loss of guitarist Gary Moore.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 4 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site