Greg Lake - 'Manoeuvres' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 09, 2011    
0.0 (0)
5205   0   1   0   0   0





Another worthwhile release from this great label.

Two years after the release of his self-titled first solo album, label Chrysalis were pushing him to go back into the studio to record the follow-up. It was worrying that he had no songs written, having used all his surplus up on his 1981 album, but he did at least have a settled band in guitarist Gary Moore, bassist Tristan Margetts, keyboard player Tommy Eyre and drummer Ted McKenna. Also, having toured extensively for a couple of years as a solo artist he was starting to get a handle on what style would work best for him, and as a result his 1983 album 'Manoeuvres' had more of a consistent direction to it than his predecessor, even if the best songs didn't quite match the highlights of 'Greg Lake'.

'Manoeuvres' saw Lake heading in a more AOR direction, ironically similar to fellow ex-King Crimson member John Wetton whose place he would briefly take in the supergroup Asia. However, as good a some of these songs were, the album was ultimately far too ballad heavy. It starts of brilliantly with the cool guitars and pompy keys of the title track, with Lake's smooth rich vocal suiting the melodic rock direction to a tee, carrying on in the same vein with the upbeat rockers 'Too Young For Love' and 'I Don't Wanna Lose Your Love Tonight' and the excellent pop-rocker 'Paralysed' all in the first half of the album. The dramatic 'It's You, You've Gotta Believe' is the closest thing on any of his solo albums to ELP with it's acoustic guitars, majestic synths and over six minute length.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

From that point on the album ends with four ballads, and whilst each one has something to recommend it – as does the west coast Ambrosia-like 'A Woman Like You' in the first half – it gives the album too much of a low key feel. The orchestral arrangement on 'Famous Last Words' is pretty neat and was written by The Sweet's Andy Scott, but despite the stirring arrangements on 'Haunted' and 'I Don't Know Why I Still Love You' (lets leave the sickly-sweet 'Slave To Love' out of this!) the album ends with a whimper when a couple of bangs would have made it a completely different proposition.
There are some very good songs here - well-written and performed and in a style that suits Lake's voice – but to my mind nothing that quite matches the highlights of his debut album, 'Nuclear Attack' and 'Retribution Drive' in particular. It's probably a more consistent record overall and it's great to finally have it on CD with the usual great remastering job from Rock Candy. Like I said before, I doubt Malcolm Dome was given enough time with Greg Lake to make the sleeve notes more interesting (Lake repeats himself a lot!) but another worthwhile release from this great label.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 16 hours, 50 minutes ago
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site