CD Reviews

Def Leppard - 'Mirrorball - Live and More' Hot

Added by James Gaden     June 10, 2011    
0.0 (0)
8006   0   1   0   0   0

Live album with three new studio tracks from the Sheffield legends.

t’s always seemed odd that a band of such major standing and with a good live reputation like Def Leppard had never released a live album, despite there being a few videos/DVDs available. Featuring just about all of their big hits, ‘Mirrorball – Live And More’ puts that right and manages to dispel the rumour that the live double album is a thing of the past.

With a crystal clear and powerful sound, augmented by a crowd that sounds like they’ve come straight from Cheap Trick’s ‘Live At Budokan’ album (even though they’re quiet during the songs), the album has been recorded at several different venues on different tours but has been skilfully put together to sound like it was all the same show. Of the twenty-one live tracks well over half were huge hits for the band and almost all are played faithfully with little or no messing about with the arrangement. The likes of ‘Rock! Rock! (Till You Drop)’, ‘Rocket’, ‘Animal’, ‘Hysteria’, ‘Armageddon It’ etc. are played with a lot of energy and great care has to taken to avoid them sounding sterile, but elsewhere the band have mixed things up a little. ‘Two Steps Behind’ and ‘Bringin’ On The Heartbreak’ are played acoustically and ‘Switch 625’ has a short Rick Allen drum solo, whilst the first disc ends curiously with their cover of the David Essex hit ‘Rock On’ and the live portion of the second with The Sweet’s ‘Action’ and ‘Bad Actress’, an OK song but certainly not a set closer, even if it is a virtual set. It’s only when you sit down and listen to this that you realise just how good Phil Collen and Vivian Campbell are, even though the latter is only showing a fraction of what he can do. Joe Elliott sounds good here too and each song has a certain something that just makes you smile with the familiarity of it all.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

As you’ve no doubt heard by now, the band wanted us to hear some of the stuff they’ve been writing for the new album. The three new tracks tagged on the end are completely different from each other, but each has a lot going for it, particularly the excellent ‘Undefeated’ with its big beat, insistent riff, catchy chorus and simply gorgeous bridge. ‘Kings Of The World’ is an early Queen type song that pays homage to Bohemian Rhapsody with its similar piano motif and sense of dynamics, and ‘It’s All About Believing’ is just a great pop-rock song with infectious vocal melodies and well-crafted guitar parts. As if that isn’t enough, you also get a fifty minute DVD with some live performances and backstage footage, although it wasn’t in the promo package so I can’t tell you if it’s any good, but on the evidence of the rest of this release, it probably is.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 1 hour ago
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site