Amaranthe - 'Amaranthe' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 21, 2011    
0.0 (0)
4587   0   1   0   0   0




Intense, yet surprisingly catchy.

Just for the record, I never really was much of a death metal fan – historically speaking there's been far too much directionless riffing (aggression is fine if it's focussed, just look at some of the thrash bands) and tuneless grunting ('singing' would probably breach the Trades Descriptions Act) for my tastes. Of late however the genre has been undergoing an, at times, rather startling metamorphosis. More and more bands from all corners of the rock and metal universe have injected a shot of death metal into their pantheon of influences (often to great effect), and with the likes of the technically brilliant Children Of Bodom proving without doubt that the songwriters craft is starting to take hold, even cynical old farts like me are having to take note and reassess ... and then along came Amaranthe.

Given the big budget movie feel of the promo video which accompanies lead single (if such a beast still exists) 'Hunger', it would appear that Universal has big plans for this lot, and it's easy to see why. Admittedly the rather obvious charms of chanteuse Elize Ryd are an obvious focal point (at least initially ... she certainly got my full attention!), but if you delve a little further there's actually so much more to Amaranthe than a cute chick in a short dress!

Originally called Avalanche, this Swedish/Danish power/melodic death metal sextet first came to prominence a couple of years ago via a four song demo which soon had a string of record companies clamouring for their collective signature. The band grew from an idea shared by guitarist/keyboard player Olof Morck (Dragonland, Nightrage) and vocalist Jake E Lundberg (Dreamland), their aim to take the music of bands like Soilwork, Meshuggah and Mnemic and to present it in a fresh, commercially more accessible setting.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Intense, yet surprisingly catchy, the contrast between the clean vocal styles of Elize and Jake and the growls of Andy Solvestrom (Within Y, Evildoer) makes for compulsive listening, as between them they turn the standard melodic power metal model on its head. Pulling in elements of everything from the bands already mentioned to Nightwish, HammerFall and the like (not to mention the odd nod to a genre or two not normally readily associated with our particular area of interest – I'll let you discover those for yourselves!), Amaranthe have seriously nailed it, and with this self titled debut as a battle standard should lead the charge right into a much more mainstream consciousness.

Beyond the infectious 'Hunger' already mentioned, tracks such as 'Leave Everything Behind', 'My Transition' and the awesome 'Director's Cut' have everything you could want really – incisive guitars, a great sense of theatrical melodrama, strong melodies, and an intense energy that should really knock your senses for six on stage. Factor in a bold and dynamic production on top of that and ... well you get the picture.

As I said at the beginning of this piece, I never was much of a death metal fan but if this is the shape of things to come that might just change.

Dave Cockett

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site