Little Caesar - 'Redemption' Hot

Added by James Gaden     February 24, 2010    
0.0 (0)
8547   0   1   0   0   0




Comeback album by the soulful rockers.


Like with the bulk of the bands in my collection, I ended up discovering them from another band, usually long after everybody else (blame it on my youth!) and usually I’m the kiss of death and they break up. As a fan of all things Whitesnake, I bought the Manic Eden project which featured the ‘Slip Of The Tongue’ era line up (sans Vai) and a smokey voiced singer called Ron Young. I liked Young’s work, wondered who he was, and was led to a bunch of guys who had a biker image, yet played more in the style of Bad Company and ZZ Top, with a bit of motown soul thrown in. They were Little Caesar, and I loved them. They made a nice E.P. called ‘Name Your Poison’, and followed up with their first album which had some killer songs on it. The harder rocking ‘Influence’ came next, and then that was an end to it, hence Ron’s brief run with Manic Eden.

2009 has been a great year for comebacks, especially for my taste, and Little Caesar have also returned. With shorter hair but original members to the fore, ‘Redemption’ carried some big expectations for me. It doesn’t QUITE meet them, but the pros outweigh the cons.

‘Same Old Story’ opens the album, which actually appeared on ‘This Time It’s Different’, a collection of outtakes and rarities former member Earl Slick put out. It’s a good start, because it’s a good song and what’s more, it sounds like the Little Caesar I remember. ‘Supersonic’ follows at similar pace and I like that too, with it driving beat and great chorus. Ron sounds no different, and we’re off and rocking in fine style.

‘Loving You Is Killing Me’ and the slightly Rolling Stones style ‘Witness Stand’ are a bit bluesier and solidly crafted, if unspectacular. The title track and ‘That Was Yesterday’ are very much in the vein of the ‘Ballad Of Johnny’ style that Little Caesar do so well, and Young’s voice is perfect for this type of track.

There’s plenty of sleazy, swaggering rock in the form of ‘Sick and Tired’ and ‘Real Rock Drive’. ‘Every Picture Tells a Story/Happy’ also raises the tempo, but suffers from some questionable additional Ace Frehley-esque vocals from one of the other members (I assume bassist Fidel Paniagua but I can’t be sure without credits). ‘Just Like A Woman’ ends the records awash with breezy acoustic Southern style slide guitars.

I can’t say I disliked any song on it, but it’s had to grow on me, unlike it’s predecessors which grabbed me instantly and just got better with repeated listens. With no deal to Geffen anymore, the band have put this out themselves and as such it’s only a download and has a raw production sound, but I think that suits it. The cover sucks, but the band supply you with a jpeg of it anyway big enough for a CD cover. I lament the fact there’s no booklet or packaging with downloads, but I appreciate the cost of doing that yourself, and if it’s a choice of a download only album or not at all, bring it on. Add that to the fact that it’s priced at $7.99 instead of £7.99 like it would be on iTunes, and you can get yourself a solid 10 track record for about a fiver. It’s a good album, it’s just not as good as their previous two. There’s plenty to show that the next one could be though. You can get it from

James Gaden


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 17 hours, 53 minutes ago
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site