Concert Reviews

Deep Purple Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 04, 2011    
0.0 (0)
5319   0   1   0   0   0

Deep Purple - Montreux Jazz Festival, Montreux (Switzerland) - 16th of July 2011.

To any Deep Purple fan, other than having them turn up at your local pub, the Montreux Jazz Festival with all the “Smoke” history is probably the ultimate gig. After a five year absence they are back to headline the closing night of the 45th annual festival and this time round they’ve brought an orchestra too.

It’s the orchestra who open the show with a short piece before the band appear to join the intro to Highway Star building up to a crescendo until Gillan takes the stage to even more applause before launching into the song. Hard Lovin’ Man and Maybe I’m a Leo swiftly follow until band and orchestra take a breath for the first time.

Many rock bands have played shows with orchestras in the past, Kiss, Metallica and Scorpions immediately spring to mind, but surely none more successfully than this. The arrangement of Purple’s songs translate to the full orchestration with ease, possibly a lasting influence of Jon Lord’s classical leanings on the composition. But this is no orchestra overkill where ventures like this have fallen in the past. When not needed in some songs they’ll sit back. Strange Kind of Woman sees the band take full flow, whereas strings and horns take full effect for the likes of Rapture of the Deep and Perfect Strangers. Even the solos take on a new dimension. Whilst no Deep Purple show would be complete without the guitar and keyboard slots, as Steve Morse moves into instrumentals Contact Lost and Well Dressed Guitar the Orchestra kicks in too. Lazy even manages to include a violin solo from conductor Steven Bentley in a “duel” with Morse’s guitar.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

With a combined age of well over 300 – and that’s just Purple, not the orchestra – these guys are still setting the pace and the classics keep on coming, Woman From Tokyo, No one Came, but with the orchestra in full flow, When a Blind Man Cries is stunning, Gillan’s vocals as powerful and emotional as ever with a stunning lead break from Morse. We’re already an hour and a half into the show before a thunderous Space Truckin’ takes the energy levels up another notch before closing the main set, not surprisingly, with Smoke. Introducing it with a nod to the gig that inspired the song, with a touch of Zappa’s Peaches En Regalia, Smoke becomes the classic singalong. A couple of thousand voices in unison claiming “We all came out to Montreux” couldn’t have been more true.

Blues roots are again displayed with Booker T’s Green Onions riff teasing the crowd before leading into first encore of Hush with Black Night ending the show.

Deep Purple are no strangers to playing with Orchestras with their own Concerto shows and appearance with Pavorotti in the past, but this is the first time in forty years that they have gone on the road with this type of performance. After touring around the world for five years since the release of last album Rapture of the Deep with little let up – nearly 100 shows in 2010 – something a bit different has kept the fires burning. The band look like they are having a ball on stage, revelling in the performance. The show hits the UK in November, don’t miss it. And with rumours of a new album in 2012 the future still looks bright, the future looks Purple.

Ian Parry


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 days, 23 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site