House Of Lords - 'Big Money' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 10, 2011    
0.0 (0)
8868   0   1   0   0   0



Eighth full length album by House Of Lords.

House Of Lords' eighth full length album ‘Big Money’ follows on from their 2009 release ‘Cartesian Dreams’ with the tried and tested formula that's kept them as one of the leading lights of Melodic Hard Rock for twenty years. It may only be James Christian that remains from 1988's debut but his strong rasping melodic vocals are an indelible stamp on House Of Lords' music.

Those that are familiar with House Of Lords will find plenty to get excited about on here: guitarist Jimi Bell, drummer BJ Zampa and bass player Chris McCarvill are totally sold on the idea of making the kind of album that gets original House Of Lords fans salivating from the mouth, unlike their predecessors who chose to forge a new, modern direction on 2004's ‘The Power And The Myth’, an album that was universally unpopular with the die-hards and was at odds with Christian's vocal style as he himself alluded to at the time. If I have to be harsh, the ballad ‘The Next Time I Hold You’ breaks no new ground but overall the choruses are big and the production values supplied by James Christian himself are slick and precise, although I would have liked to have heard McCarvill's bass slightly higher up in the mix.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Bell's guitar playing is prominent and if it's big riffs you're after such as on the title track, ‘One Man Down’ and ‘Seven’, or great solos such as on ‘Run For Your Life’, the beautiful but short solo on ‘Someday When’, or lovely arpeggio on ‘Hologram’, then you won't be disappointed. Big, glorious choruses are in abundance and it's hard to pick out any one in particular. The ‘wouldn't sound out of place on a Bon Jovi album’ ‘First To Cry’, the afore-mentioned honey-dripped ‘Someday When’ and ‘Hologram’, with its Def Leppard style multi-layering, ‘Livin' In A Dream World’ with its Arabesque feel, or ‘Once Twice’ with its exuberant, pacey sing-along style … all have memorable hooks that will have you singing them for days. Take your pick!

Zampa and McCarvill are solid and tight as you would expect having been chosen by Christian, although that's not to say that Zampa doesn't indulge with some lavish fills at every opportunity if you care to take notice. For a man in his fifties, James Christian's vocals seem not to have lost any of their edge. Much of the album may be centred on themes of love but he conveys the sentiments with aplomb and sure as hell shows no sign of slowing down. There's very little to fault this album other than what I've already mentioned, so go and grab yourself a copy. Like a fine wine, House Of Lords as a musical entity are as good today as they were twenty-three years ago. Once tasted, they're hard to put down.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site