CD Reviews

Andy Bown - 'Unfinished Business' Hot

Added by James Gaden     August 19, 2011    
0.0 (0)
6524   0   1   0   0   0



First solo album for thirty years from the Status Quo keyboard player.

I have to put this particular album down as one of my most pleasant surprises. As anybody who has read my contributions to this magazine will have no doubt realised, I have a lot of time for Status Quo. Not only have I really enjoyed their last batch of albums, I was fortunate enough to have covered Francis Rossi's second solo album (and subsequent live DVD) when that came out. Now, Andy Bown, who has been playing keyboards with Quo since the seventies (as well as additional guitars, harmonica and backing vocals) and who has co-written some of their biggest hits, is back with his first solo album in over thirty years.
I had no idea what to expect from Andy as I'd not heard any of his solo work before. I knew he had a great musical pedigree, having played in The Herd with Peter Frampton and spent some time playing with Pink Floyd and Roger Waters. I also knew he had written or co-written some great songs for Quo. 'Unfinished Business' however, shows another side. Andy has penned ten original tracks by himself, which he also handles lead vocals for - and what a great album it is.
Opener 'Ruby And Roy' starts the proceedings in lively fashion, boasting a groove that's not too far removed from Quo themselves and has some great light-hearted lyrics. 'Rubber Glove' follows up with a more bluesy feel that works sublimely. Andy is not the most gifted vocalist in the world, but he can carry a tune and his use of Juliet Roberts and Sylvia Mason James on backing vocals to lift the choruses is an inspired decision.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'I Was There When The Lights Went On' is an entertaining autobiographical track chronicling Andy kicking off Live Aid with the opening notes of 'Rocking All Over The World', playing next to Jerry Lee Lewis, meeting Chuck Berry and Tim Hardin stealing his guitar. It also ends with a collection of legendary names Andy has encountered, which is pretty much a who's who of rock and pop legends - Tom Jones, Robert Plant, Brian May, Steve Winwood - right through to Rolf Harris!
Other songs of note include the rocker 'Built To Last' and the blues work out 'Tick My Box', but frankly there wasn't a single track on here I didn't like. It's a quirky, varied and fun album with some funny lyrics and nice touches - it doesn't take itself too seriously. If you enjoy Quo's more eclectic side, it might appeal. Other comparisons I've heard liken it to early Dire Straits. Personally I thought that was a vague likeness, but what I did realise is an album I anticipated purely out of curiosity has turned out to be my most played album of the month. On top of that, it even comes with a bonus video. Top stuff from a top musician!

James Gaden
Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 3 hours ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site