CD Reviews

Roger Glover - 'If Life Was Easy' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 04, 2011    
0.0 (0)
5177   0   1   0   0   0



Fantastic production, superb sound and very well crafted songs.

Roger Glover has had a sporadic solo career during his time as a celebrated bassist for Rainbow and Deep Purple, two of rock's greatest and most influential bands. Now, following the example set by Ian Gillan's 'One Eye To Morocco' and Don Airey's 'All Out', Glover gives us a brand new solo record himself. Roger sums the album up best in his liner notes where he states 'this hodgepodge collection of songs reveals or obscures a range of emotions over a turbulent decade; separation, divorce, injustice, uncertainty, new love, fatherhood, grand-fatherhood, emigration, touring and losing my mother are some of the extreme highs and lows during this storm tossed period'.

With that in mind, it's hard to pigeonhole this album. Roger isn't kidding when he says it's a hodgepodge collection - there are a variety of styles on this album, along with a variety of singers, recorded at a variety of locations on a Mac with Pro-Tools. 'Don't Look Now (Everything Has Changed)' opens the record, with lead vocals handled by Randall Bramblett. It has an almost reggae feel to it and it, in all fairness, is a quality track which Bramblett is perfect for. 'The Dream I Had' is more old school rock and roll, with lead vocals by Nazareth's inimitable screecher Dan McCafferty. This is then followed up by 'Moonlight', an easy listening number sung perfectly by Roger's daughter Gillian. I think by now you realise that this is nothing like Deep Purple and you have no idea what might come next.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Roger handles the lead vocal for the amusing 'The Car Won't Start' which has an almost Ska/Madness vibe, before exploring a darker side to his delivery on the distorted riff driven 'Box Of Tricks'. While Roger is only too quick to point out his shortcomings as a vocalist, he actually handles the ones he fronts very well - none better than the gentle acoustic based title track. Tracks like 'Welcome To The Moon' allows Roger to explore his true solo side as he wrote the song, sings it and performs all the instruments on it. He also rocks out a little on the final track 'Feel Like A King'.

All in all, I think the guests will make or break this album. Depending on your preference, some might find a wide variety of vocalists off putting, others might like the variation. Randall Bramblett and Gillian Glover steal the show for me, they both seem to be the most in tune with what Roger was doing. Mickey Lee Soule even pops up for vocals on 'The Ghost Of Your Smile' - but frankly I prefer him on keyboards.

I can't dislike the work on this record, but I find it's best sampled as odd tracks here and there, rather than as a whole, because it is a 'collection', it's not a cohesive album. The production however, is fantastic, the sound is superb and the songs are very well crafted. It's not what I would define as a solo album, it sounds more like a songwriters anthology - but then I guess Roger would prefer that, as he openly tells me in this very issue, he identifies much more with songwriters than he does singers. If you're a fan of what Roger has done before outside of Purple and you have varied taste, there's plenty here to absorb you. But if you're looking for some hard rock, you'll find very little here - this is Roger exercising his right to explore outside the confines of his parent band. While it is very good, I think sixteen songs and so many styles make it hard to get through in one listen. Sampled as a random track here and there though - it makes you realise how talented a songwriter Roger Glover is!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site