CD Reviews

Roger Glover - 'If Life Was Easy' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 04, 2011    
0.0 (0)
7934   0   1   0   0   0



Fantastic production, superb sound and very well crafted songs.

Roger Glover has had a sporadic solo career during his time as a celebrated bassist for Rainbow and Deep Purple, two of rock's greatest and most influential bands. Now, following the example set by Ian Gillan's 'One Eye To Morocco' and Don Airey's 'All Out', Glover gives us a brand new solo record himself. Roger sums the album up best in his liner notes where he states 'this hodgepodge collection of songs reveals or obscures a range of emotions over a turbulent decade; separation, divorce, injustice, uncertainty, new love, fatherhood, grand-fatherhood, emigration, touring and losing my mother are some of the extreme highs and lows during this storm tossed period'.

With that in mind, it's hard to pigeonhole this album. Roger isn't kidding when he says it's a hodgepodge collection - there are a variety of styles on this album, along with a variety of singers, recorded at a variety of locations on a Mac with Pro-Tools. 'Don't Look Now (Everything Has Changed)' opens the record, with lead vocals handled by Randall Bramblett. It has an almost reggae feel to it and it, in all fairness, is a quality track which Bramblett is perfect for. 'The Dream I Had' is more old school rock and roll, with lead vocals by Nazareth's inimitable screecher Dan McCafferty. This is then followed up by 'Moonlight', an easy listening number sung perfectly by Roger's daughter Gillian. I think by now you realise that this is nothing like Deep Purple and you have no idea what might come next.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Roger handles the lead vocal for the amusing 'The Car Won't Start' which has an almost Ska/Madness vibe, before exploring a darker side to his delivery on the distorted riff driven 'Box Of Tricks'. While Roger is only too quick to point out his shortcomings as a vocalist, he actually handles the ones he fronts very well - none better than the gentle acoustic based title track. Tracks like 'Welcome To The Moon' allows Roger to explore his true solo side as he wrote the song, sings it and performs all the instruments on it. He also rocks out a little on the final track 'Feel Like A King'.

All in all, I think the guests will make or break this album. Depending on your preference, some might find a wide variety of vocalists off putting, others might like the variation. Randall Bramblett and Gillian Glover steal the show for me, they both seem to be the most in tune with what Roger was doing. Mickey Lee Soule even pops up for vocals on 'The Ghost Of Your Smile' - but frankly I prefer him on keyboards.

I can't dislike the work on this record, but I find it's best sampled as odd tracks here and there, rather than as a whole, because it is a 'collection', it's not a cohesive album. The production however, is fantastic, the sound is superb and the songs are very well crafted. It's not what I would define as a solo album, it sounds more like a songwriters anthology - but then I guess Roger would prefer that, as he openly tells me in this very issue, he identifies much more with songwriters than he does singers. If you're a fan of what Roger has done before outside of Purple and you have varied taste, there's plenty here to absorb you. But if you're looking for some hard rock, you'll find very little here - this is Roger exercising his right to explore outside the confines of his parent band. While it is very good, I think sixteen songs and so many styles make it hard to get through in one listen. Sampled as a random track here and there though - it makes you realise how talented a songwriter Roger Glover is!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 15 hours ago
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download
  • RockingHerb : Thank You Berny.
  • Berny : Hello @snowwolf: Pls. check your mail! Thanks in advance! B.
  • snowwolf : I bought the new issue at noon yesterday and it is now 4am the next day. Any idea when I’ll be able to download it?
  • Berny : @RockingHerb: Many thanks for your purchase. Pls. check your mail.
  • RockingHerb : When will my recent purchase show in my downloads. there is a message saying up to 3 hours is this correct
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site