Danny Vaughn - 'The Road Less Travelled' Hot

Added by James Gaden     February 25, 2010    
0.0 (0)
8684   0   1   0   0   0



Acoustic based live album from the Tyketto vocalist.


Danny Vaughn is certainly no stranger to readers of Fireworks, with an impressive body of work under his belt, including Tyketto, Vaughn and From The Inside amongst others. He is also a regular visitor to the stages of Britain, but it has been a while since he has been able to do any of his popular stripped-down acoustic gigs. So when the opportunity arose to do 2 shows at the tail-end of 2008, it was decided to record one. But instead of the one-man-and-his-guitar type show of old, this time around Danny roped in three-quarters of his solo backing band, namely Tony Marshall on guitar, Steve McKenna on bass and Lee Morris on drums, and adding newcomer Mike Corfield on keyboards. And due to the more laid-back nature of the concerts, Danny took the chance to perform many of the songs from his past that very rarely, or indeed never, get the chance to be heard in a live setting due to the arrangements. So this means no ‘Forever Young’, ‘Wings’ or ‘Standing Alone’, but this is by no means a disappointment!

This particular performance was the second night at The Cluny in Newcastle. Opening with the title-track from Danny’s last solo album ‘Traveller’, it’s one of the songs that really suits the acoustic sound, Danny and Tony strumming away to their heart’s content, and although the lyrics are quite melancholy it’s an upbeat number with a singalong chorus, which the Cluny crowd does with gusto. Danny’s voice is a little raspy to begin with, but soon warms up, and the harmonies from messrs Marshall, McKenna and Morris perfect, and it’s a great way to open the show. Although many of the songs chosen are not as well known as the Tyketto numbers, the devoted crowd show that these songs are no less popular, and greet every one like old friends. So from Danny’s solo albums we get the anthemic ‘Restless Blood’, ‘A Million Miles Of Road’, the piano-led ‘Soldiers And Sailors On Riverside’ and the fantastic ‘Lifted’ – certainly one of the best songs DV has ever written. Both From The Inside albums are plundered for ‘Nothing At All’, ‘Making Waves’ and the gorgeous ‘Visions’.

However, it’s the slower numbers that are the real stars here, really demonstrating the power and emotion in Danny’s voice. I’ve always thought that the song ‘Damn’ from the first From The Inside CD was the best Danny Vaughn vocal performance ever, and the song loses none of it’s impact by being stripped back. That huge voice is backed solely by Mike Corfield’s gentle piano melody, before the rest of the band join in for the chorus, and demonstrates why Danny should be a megastar. Stunning! The song was originally performed by country singer LeAnn Rimes, and DV reveals that when he decided to record the song he would do it in the same key – hence the fact it hasn’t been performed live until now! ‘Jenny Doesn’t Live Here Anymore’ first appeared on the Flesh And Blood ‘Blues For Daze’ CD, and is one of the songs that only gets an airing in the acoustic setting, and is always well received. Then late on in the set appears the beautiful ‘When You Walk Away’ from the ‘Fearless’ album, never performed live until these acoustic shows. It’s one of the most heartfelt songs ever written by Danny, and his performance here is awe-inspiring. At the show the previous night at JB’s in Dudley Danny was overcome with emotion after performing this song, and was speechless for a few moments with the reaction from the crowd.

It would be rude not to do at least one Tyketto song, and the set is wrapped up with ‘Lay Your Body Down’ which is re-arranged into a boogie number, complete with an appearance from DV’s harmonica! The sound quality of this album is fantastic, mixed by Pete Coleman, and the performances from the whole band exemplary. There’s no record company involved with this release, it’s purely financed by a partnership of Danny and the hardrockhouse website. A great souvenir of a great show. Available from

Ant Heeks


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 17 hours ago
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site