TCP - 'Fantastic Dreamer' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 23, 2011    
0.0 (0)
8813   0   1   0   0   0




You like prog? Then get yourself this album.

Think what it would have been like if "Wish You Were Here" era Pink Floyd had decided that they wanted to merge with Gabriel era Genesis to create a new, but familiar sound and then add a more contemporary verve and a cutting edge production. You're getting there, but there are still plenty of twists and turns to make TCP's second album 'Fantastic Dreamer' into what should genuinely be held up as a progressive rock classic - and I don't say that lightly.

This is an album that never drops from start to finish, with the quality of musicianship and composition remaining staggeringly high throughout. That's not to say that there aren't highlights, it's just that every one of the songs on this album are of the highest standard. My personal favourites come in the shape of beautifully melodic 'In The Movie Of You', where a plaintive piano introduces a deeply atmospheric Floydian theme which is as equally uplifting as it is threatening. The guitar work of Jack Wright sings and sears, while the absolutely stunning keyboard work (a theme across the whole album) from Blake Tobias not only sets the scene, but continually moves the music along and pushes its boundaries. TCP are not a band content to sit on a theme for too long though, so as this song blurs past Wright suddenly blurts out a howling guitar solo, allowing the whirlwind drumming (which is also provided by Wright) and the galloping bass (which Tobias also plays) to come along for the ride. The effect is stunning, aggressive and beautiful, which is a pretty impressive trick to pull off. Not content with that TCP then fire out the bizarre, with stunning results. Imagine the cabaret piano of Dresden Dolls pounding over a rocked up Genesis vibe. The guitars work is precise and straight to the point, with the keyboard and rhythm playing really hauling this song into a full on rampage that has melody to burn.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

I haven't touched on the vocals yet and you may wonder why. Well the simple reason is that they deserve to be singled out, with the tones of Henry Tarnecky being similar to Peter Gabriel's husky tones. However the tortured gargles and shrieks that he also yelps out, bring a completely unique aspect to his voice that is simultaneously unnerving and beguiling. As with so much of what makes 'Fantastic Dreamer' just so good, it is this remarkable contrast between elements of songs and sounds that makes for such an interesting and invigorating album. However the skill comes in making it all come together in such a seamless manner, which this album does with an impressive and unforced ease. Many prog acts these days feel the need to wedge together disparate ideas simply to sound "progressive", TCP on the other hand allow the different moods, feels and approaches to meld into one another in a completely organic and hugely enjoyable manner, which is a rare treat!

Closing track 'Vision' is the epic that all albums of this ilk thrive on and unsurprisingly it doesn't disappoint in any way. Instead it just grows and grows through a simple melody into an all encompassing journey through some weighty themes and grandiose tones. Tarnecky shines once more, but this is a true band effort to make music that is far huger than the sum of its parts - cranked up, it is absolutely stunning.

Put simply. You like prog? Get yourself this album. You won't be disappointed.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 15 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site