Heaven's Basement - 'Unbreakable' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 26, 2011    
0.0 (0)
4311   0   1   0   0   0




Second release from the UK heavy rock act.

'Unbreakable' is the second release from the UK heavy rock act Heaven's Basement, who evolved out of the excellent band Roadstar and also released an EP under the name Hurricane Party (I hope you're keeping up here?!). The 2008 self titled debut Heaven's Basement EP followed pretty much the same blueprint to the classy blues rich, but in your face good time R'n'R of Roadstar, however since then there have been a number of changes in the HB family. First up bassist Rob Randall left the band due to personal issues, before the real bomb shell that lead singer Richie Hevanz was amicably stepping away from the band landed and as if that wasn't enough guitarist Jonny Rocker also decided that after trying for eight years to break Hurricane Party/Roadstar/Heaven's Basement, that he was going to move into a "More behind the scenes career in music". With the only original member of the band still remaining being drummer Chris Rivers, the smart money was on Heaven's Basement calling it a day, however to his credit Rivers has brought together a new line up of the band, who have released a stunning new seven song disc.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

So with this effectively being a new band with Rivers still behind the kit, the rest of Heaven's Basement is now made up of guitarist Sid Glover, bassist Rob Ellershaw and singer Aaron Buchannan and while the vibe of 'Unbreakable' is decidedly more metallic than its predecessor, surprisingly the overall sound isn't totally removed from the 'Heaven's Basement' EP. Buchannan brings a more contemporary outlook to the vocals with a tougher, grittier delivery that works fantastically with the heavier, brasher sound of the new songs and if this is the direction that Heaven's Basement are headed in for the future, then it is one that will serve them well. As a long standing fan of the band's music, I found that I immediately grasped onto the updated, rasping riffs and percussive punch of the opening title track, which combines a rollicking guitar romp with pummelling drums and a stunningly impressive vocal. 'Guilty Tips And Sins' tones things down slightly, bringing back a more straight rock 'n' roll approach, however the big singalong chorus and Buchannan's vocals once more add an edge that should allow Heaven's Basement to bring on board a younger set of followers while still making their longer in the tooth fans still feel right at home. It is a neat trick and one that I hadn't expected from such an altered line up and you better believe that is no short term illusion, as the mighty roar of 'The Long Goodbye', the pin-point punch of 'Close Encounters' and the most Roadstar like track in evidence here 'Paranoia', all leave you in no doubt that this is a band firing on all cylinders. A more restrained, if no less rockin' attack is taken on the slower 'Let Me Out Of Here', before 'Leeches' closes the disc in a blur of guitar motifs and crashing cymbals.

I really did wonder if such an altered line up would be able to live up to what has come before from the long and winding past of this band, however if ever there was a case of snatching victory from the jaws of defeat, then the aptly titled 'Unbreakable' is it.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site