Fireworks

Strangeways - 'Native Sons' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/fe/5d/d0/1834_strangewaysnativesons_1325701083.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 04, 2012    
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
7138   0   1   0   0   1

Artist

Title

Label

The definitive version of possibly the best British AOR album of all time.

After the short tenure of vocalist Tony Liddle, the Stewart brothers and Jim Drummond went back to the drawing board and decided to have another shot at convincing their first choice singer to come over and join the band, with American vocalist Terry Brock finally doing just that. So perfect was the fit that Brock ended up co-writing a majority of the record with the previously autocratic Ian Stewart, and with new keyboard player David 'Munch' Moore replacing Alan Thomson they went back to the familiar surroundings of Powerplay Studios in Zurich with producer John Punter and proceeded to take the melodic rock world by storm, or at least the section of it that were in the know.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


Over the years I've found it's easier to write a bad review than a good one, so suffice to say that nothing I could write about this album could come close to expressing the pleasure it's given me since I picked it up on the day of its release back in January 1988, and never more so than listening to this splendid remaster. There's the irresistible drum groove and guitar riff of 'Dance With Somebody', the sheer melody of 'Only A Fool', Terry Brock's voice breaking through the stratosphere on 'So Far Away' and Ian Stewart's masterful guitar on the dynamic 'Where Do We Go From Here?', all with brilliant arrangements that build each track into a masterpiece. The Brock written 'Goodnight L.A.' is another soaring ballad that proves he was listening to a lot of Steve Perry at the time, whilst the brooding 'Shake The Seven' is one of many tracks that highlight the amazing musicianship in the band, with a drum beat and bass line to die for beneath Ian Stewart's inventive guitar parts and 'Munch' Moore's outside-the-box keyboard punctuations. The upbeat 'Empty Streets', the hypnotic 'Never Going To Lose It' and the haunting 'Face To Face' make up the rest of this perfect album, along with my personal favourite, the out and our rocker of the album; 'Stand Up And Shout'. The latter is an adrenaline rush that never fails to get the heart racing, and does so twice here because the sole bonus track is a great live version that morphs into 'Breaking Down The Barriers' from the debut, which sounds especially good with a Terry Brock vocal.

As usual the great remastering of Jon Astley breathes new life into what was already a genre classic, and with the bonus track and Dave Ling's enlightening essay, it's the definitive version of possibly the best British AOR album of all time.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Music Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Artwork  
 
5.0  (3)
Value for Money 
 
5.0  (3)
So, "Native Sons" or "Walk In The Fire"? Which one is the best? I don't know...What I do know is that both are one of the best albums I've ever heard in my music-driven life.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: August 07, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways Native Sons

So, "Native Sons" or "Walk In The Fire"? Which one is the best? I don't know...What I do know is that both are one of the best albums I've ever heard in my music-driven life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is great CD with some hard rock to it. Native Sons got great guitar work, gorgeous melodies, lush keyboards, solid songwriteing and above all Terry Brock's powerful vocal performances. Terry Brock previously sang for Kansas and Steve Morse. Worth checking out of Amazon. If you like Bad English, Journey, Mountain then you like Native Sons.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: August 30, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways Native Sons

This is great CD with some hard rock to it. Native Sons got great guitar work, gorgeous melodies, lush keyboards, solid songwriteing and above all Terry Brock's powerful vocal performances. Terry Brock previously sang for Kansas and Steve Morse. Worth checking out of Amazon. If you like Bad English, Journey, Mountain then you like Native Sons.

Was this review helpful to you? 
All of Strangeways albums worth Buying. Check them out. Native Sons was released in 1987 is and classic rock album.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: March 12, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways

All of Strangeways albums worth Buying. Check them out. Native Sons was released in 1987 is and classic rock album.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 


Comments (1)add comment

Johns Band said:

...
I have large record collection with most of Rock genres except Grunge. I bought first issue of Fireworks but sadly only bought issue 63 afterwards. I found this wonderful and best Website the other day were I found for first time Strangeways. Strangewayes "Native Sons" Is one of great albums from Rock histories, with riffs that rock and already mention Drum beat and bass lines.
I'm listening 0n Spotiy and will buy this great album.
 
February 26, 2017
Votes: +1

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 11 hours, 15 minutes ago
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!
  • bpomper : Thanks didnt of that. I still have not heard about fireworks 88 was it sent out. Thankyou
  • Rocktopia Te : @bpomper: For security reasons, we removed your previous message. Please do not post your private e - mail address. Many thanks for your understanding.
  • bpomper : Thanks for the reply. I see download but can you confirm that hardcopy was or is sent ou .thanks.the email i used is inder the contact me info of the website
  • Berny : @bpomper: Apologies for your troubles. Where did you send the email to? We haven't received anything. I will send you a longer reply via mail. Also, you can download the free CD from the "Fireworks" menu on top, but the CD links are only shown if you are logged in.
  • bpomper : 3rd email inquiring about my purchase of fireworks #88. i purchased on the 2oth of sept and today is the 24 with no response...paypal has taken the payment. should i have a down load of the cd for mu usa magazine. Looking forward to an answer
  • bpomper : hello i purchased fireworks #88 through paypal on9/23 and have not recieved an email from rocktopia. purchase is for a hard copy of the mag. should i have cd download instructions.when should i expect it
  • Berny : @Johns Band: I've just sent you an e - mail. Best regards, B.
  • Johns Band : I have ordered FM Live video and £1.99 taken from my PayPal account. How do I download video. Something gone wrong at processing with Fireworks. The links to report it do not work.
  • Berny : @kevinw01: Have you received the mail containing the donwload instructions? It seems as if you are downloading the bonus CDs from the "Fireworks" menu, those are meant for our readers in the USA and Canada whose copies do not come with the CD. I will send you a mail now. Thanks, B.
  • kevinw01 : I have ordered several issues of Fireworks but when I press the download button I only get a copy of the MP3 but not the PDF files. I have an iPad. Am I doing something wrong? Kevin

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site