Fireworks

Strangeways - 'Native Sons' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/fe/5d/d0/1834_strangewaysnativesons_1325701083.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 04, 2012    
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
6534   0   1   0   0   1

Artist

Title

Label

The definitive version of possibly the best British AOR album of all time.

After the short tenure of vocalist Tony Liddle, the Stewart brothers and Jim Drummond went back to the drawing board and decided to have another shot at convincing their first choice singer to come over and join the band, with American vocalist Terry Brock finally doing just that. So perfect was the fit that Brock ended up co-writing a majority of the record with the previously autocratic Ian Stewart, and with new keyboard player David 'Munch' Moore replacing Alan Thomson they went back to the familiar surroundings of Powerplay Studios in Zurich with producer John Punter and proceeded to take the melodic rock world by storm, or at least the section of it that were in the know.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


Over the years I've found it's easier to write a bad review than a good one, so suffice to say that nothing I could write about this album could come close to expressing the pleasure it's given me since I picked it up on the day of its release back in January 1988, and never more so than listening to this splendid remaster. There's the irresistible drum groove and guitar riff of 'Dance With Somebody', the sheer melody of 'Only A Fool', Terry Brock's voice breaking through the stratosphere on 'So Far Away' and Ian Stewart's masterful guitar on the dynamic 'Where Do We Go From Here?', all with brilliant arrangements that build each track into a masterpiece. The Brock written 'Goodnight L.A.' is another soaring ballad that proves he was listening to a lot of Steve Perry at the time, whilst the brooding 'Shake The Seven' is one of many tracks that highlight the amazing musicianship in the band, with a drum beat and bass line to die for beneath Ian Stewart's inventive guitar parts and 'Munch' Moore's outside-the-box keyboard punctuations. The upbeat 'Empty Streets', the hypnotic 'Never Going To Lose It' and the haunting 'Face To Face' make up the rest of this perfect album, along with my personal favourite, the out and our rocker of the album; 'Stand Up And Shout'. The latter is an adrenaline rush that never fails to get the heart racing, and does so twice here because the sole bonus track is a great live version that morphs into 'Breaking Down The Barriers' from the debut, which sounds especially good with a Terry Brock vocal.

As usual the great remastering of Jon Astley breathes new life into what was already a genre classic, and with the bonus track and Dave Ling's enlightening essay, it's the definitive version of possibly the best British AOR album of all time.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Music Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Artwork  
 
5.0  (3)
Value for Money 
 
5.0  (3)
So, "Native Sons" or "Walk In The Fire"? Which one is the best? I don't know...What I do know is that both are one of the best albums I've ever heard in my music-driven life.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: August 07, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways Native Sons

So, "Native Sons" or "Walk In The Fire"? Which one is the best? I don't know...What I do know is that both are one of the best albums I've ever heard in my music-driven life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is great CD with some hard rock to it. Native Sons got great guitar work, gorgeous melodies, lush keyboards, solid songwriteing and above all Terry Brock's powerful vocal performances. Terry Brock previously sang for Kansas and Steve Morse. Worth checking out of Amazon. If you like Bad English, Journey, Mountain then you like Native Sons.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: August 30, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways Native Sons

This is great CD with some hard rock to it. Native Sons got great guitar work, gorgeous melodies, lush keyboards, solid songwriteing and above all Terry Brock's powerful vocal performances. Terry Brock previously sang for Kansas and Steve Morse. Worth checking out of Amazon. If you like Bad English, Journey, Mountain then you like Native Sons.

Was this review helpful to you? 
All of Strangeways albums worth Buying. Check them out. Native Sons was released in 1987 is and classic rock album.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: March 12, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways

All of Strangeways albums worth Buying. Check them out. Native Sons was released in 1987 is and classic rock album.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 


Comments (1)add comment

Johns Band said:

...
I have large record collection with most of Rock genres except Grunge. I bought first issue of Fireworks but sadly only bought issue 63 afterwards. I found this wonderful and best Website the other day were I found for first time Strangeways. Strangewayes "Native Sons" Is one of great albums from Rock histories, with riffs that rock and already mention Drum beat and bass lines.
I'm listening 0n Spotiy and will buy this great album.
 
February 26, 2017
Votes: +1

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  August 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 4 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks Berny got it
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Not sure why the password disappeared, but it's back. Pls. download your copy from the usual place (i.e. Fireworks - > Bonus CD 87 on the TOP menu). Have fun! :)
  • SeaDog57 : Berny looking for the link and password to Issue 87 free music
  • Berny : @yvesrock: Apologies for the troubles. I've just sent you an email.
  • yvesrock : Hi,I ordered the 11th june the new Fireworks' magazine (issue 87) and I didn't receive it. Can you see if you sent it ? Best wishes Yves
  • yvesrock : Hi,
  • Berny : @Gazza2005: Please accept my apologies for the delay in processing your order. You should have received a confirmation mail by now. We are really trying our best to fix the payment issue as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience! PS: It seems as if you sent the payment twice, we sent you a refund.
  • Gazza2005 : I have bought issue 80 and I still ha e not had confirmation of my download. Please could this be sorted out
  • Gazza2005 : Hello. Can someone direct me to my download please
  • Gazza2005 : Can someone help please
  • Gazza2005 : It’s Fireworks 80
  • Gazza2005 : Just paid for my online version / download but I keep getting failure message. All paid for so what is going on
  • Berny : Sorted! Thanks for your patience, enjoy the magazine! :)
  • HenningHallq : Hey guys! I purchased FIREWORKS #87 yesterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account. Can you help me with this? Thanks a lot!
  • Siodmak : Really thanks !!!!
  • Berny : @Siodmak: Pls. do not worry about the error message, we currently have to process orders manually because of a n issue with our payment system. I do not want to bore you with technical details, but the redirection from PayPal to our shop does not work as it should, that's why your purchase is not assigned automatically. We are working on it! Sorry for the troubles & thanks for your understanding. We hope you like the new issue of Fireworks! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys : - ) same problem as with previous number: just purchased Fireworks Mag. 87, and this is the message: "We are sorry, but it looks like your transaction failed". I've paid it with paypol. Thanks for your help!!
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site