CD Reviews

Doogie White - 'As Yet Untitled' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 16, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5607   0   1   0   0   0




A fine album that delivers great songs.

Rather disingenuously of me when this promo arrived I had it in my head that Doogie White had a "vocalists for hire" reputation, which was soon dispelled checking his CV. I suspect that my view had more to do with the people he's worked with (including Yngwie Malmsteen and Ritchie Blackmore) than himself.

This, his debut solo album will, I suspect, go down as one of the best Hard Rock releases of 2011 and will certainly be a contender for my end of year favourites in that particular genre. There's nothing new here but who cares when the songs and performances are this good?

Right off the bat Doogie sets the bar very high with 'Come Taste the Band', the title of which is no coincidence. Originally an audition piece for the job with Blackmore's Rainbow it was deliberately given the name of a Deep Purple album that didn't feature the man in black. The keyboard and organ intro (courtesy of Tony Carey) is pure Rainbow, as are the drums when they kick in. Patti Russo (Meatloaf) duets on this one and adds an extra flavour to the sound which romps along very nicely. I defy anyone not to like this song and not have it lodge in their brain after just one listen.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

With the likes of Pontus Norgren (Hammerfall, The Poodles), Neil Murray (Whitesnake et al), Paul Logue (Eden's Curse) and Carey (Rainbow) it will be no surprise that the performances are great and having Logue, Norgren and Alex Dickson (Gun, Bruce Dickinson, Robbie Williams) helping with the songwriting means the tunes are top notch. 'Time Machine' has an AC/DC vibe, albeit with Biff Byford (Saxon) on vocals, indeed Doogie at times is similar to Byford but he's no one trick pony in that regard. 'Dreams Lie Down and Die' is probably my favourite song on the album with a great melody, superb chorus, terrific arrangement and a delivery from Doogie that is simply wonderful with a tinge of the late, great RJD in the phrasing.

'Lonely' will have the headbangers and air guitarists in seventh heaven, while the following 'Land of the Deceiver' has a great bridge and chorus with some tremendous guitar solos and rollicking bass from Murray. 'Secret Jesus' has a different feel to what's gone before and again I love the bridge; it has a touch of Whitesnake to it not least on the second bridge. 'Sea of Emotion' takes the pace down with its lighters in the air opening whilst 'Catz Got Yer Tongue' recalls Saxon once more and for me it's the weakest song on the album as it comes across as being rather generic and contrived. Quality control is resumed with 'Living on the Cheap' that has Thunder overtones, particularly on the chorus. The album closes with 'Times Like These' with its fantastic swagger which I find it impossible not to move to.

So, a fine album that delivers great songs.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Ruggie John said:

Spot on review even the Biff vocal part which is exactly what i thought when i heard that particular track. Spooky! Thanks to Fireworks I am rediscovering all these great singers and bands I've missed durung the bringing up kids years.
September 27, 2012
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 11 hours, 13 minutes ago
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site