Slash - 'Live: Made In Stoke' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 28, 2012    
0.0 (0)
9039   0   1   0   0   0





Better late than never. Axl who?

I need to hold my hands up here and make a confession. I own the Guns 'N Roses 'Appetite For Destruction' album. It's amazing, one of the best rock albums ever made. I also have their 'Lies' EP. I heard both 'Use Your Illusion' albums but decided there was one decent album between them to make a very credible follow up to 'Appetite...' I can sense some people disagreeing, but that's my view. The less said about 'The Spaghetti Incident' the better. As for 'Chinese Democracy', whether that even counts as a GNR record is debatable. I therefore hold the opinion that despite their "legendary" status, GNR are massively overrated because, since 1985, they have, to my mind, released only a handful of albums, just one of which is a classic. There, I've said it. Hate mail to the usual address...

So, I have had a waning interest in GNR, paying very little attention to their solo endeavours. Consequently, when watching the High Voltage highlights, I was (pleasantly) surprised when I saw Slash's performance. He and Alter Bridge vocalist Myles Kennedy seemed to have a good vibe together and the three songs shown on TV sounded great. When this new Slash live DVD arrived, featuring Myles Kennedy as vocalist, I put it on and was absolutely, utterly blown away by how fucking good it is!

'Made In Stoke' sees the iconic top-hatted guitarist return to the city where he spent his first few years, and the crowd is thus obviously partisan. A very toned, healthy-looking Slash presides over a string of searing, riff driven rockers backed by the indefatigable Brent Fitz (drums), Bobby Schneck (rhythm guitar) and Todd Kerns (bass). Myles Kennedy is an absolute revelation on lead vocals, owning everything put in front of him, whatever its source.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The opening to the show is as rocking as it gets, with the awesome 'Been There Lately' followed in quick succession by a note perfect 'Nightrain', a rollicking 'Ghost' and the superb 'Mean Bone'. GNR fans will enjoy perfectly replicated renditions of 'Rocket Queen', 'Civil War', 'Patience', a superb 'Sweet Child O' Mine', the powerful 'Mr Brownstone' and a classic performance of 'Paradise City'. But it's by no means all about GNR. Velvet Revolver's 'Slither' is much better than the Scott Weiland-sung version; the first Snakepit album is represented by 'Beggars & Hangers On', and there are also tracks from Slash's solo CD. Bassist Todd Kerns handles lead on the Lemmy co-write 'Doctor Alibi' and Kennedy nails everything else.

I can't say enough good things about this gig - Slash's playing is excellent and I have totally underestimated him as a songwriter and band leader. Paired up with Myles Kennedy they are a rock and roll force to be reckoned with. Hands down the best thing I received this month, and now I've got to go out and rectify the fact that Slash has been putting out material of this quality for ages and I've only just discovered him.

Oh well, better late than never. Axl who?

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site