Rush - 'Time Machine Live In Cleveland 2011' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 28, 2012    
0.0 (0)
8601   0   1   0   0   0

Beautifully filmed and recorded.

It's a matter of opinion, of course, but anyone accusing Rush of milking the market with this latest DVD, live CD and vinyl from this tour, would certainly have a point. I'm sure some will have to draw the line somewhere, but hopefully not before picking up this top quality set from this year's 'Time Machine' tour. Beautifully filmed and recorded, the setlist this time varies greatly from the other three live Rush DVD's of recent years. 

With around two and half hours of music, Rush are also at their instrumental peak. It's fair to say that the first set is tailored towards die-hard fan, with opener 'The Spirit Of Radio' and closing trio 'Freewill', 'Marathon' and 'Subdivisions' wrapped around a collection of slightly lesser known and barely played songs from the dense Rush back catalogue. There's the rare sight of guitarist Alex Lifeson playing keyboards on the commercial 'Time Stands Still', the title-track from 'Presto', the aggressive 'Stick It Out' and the menacing 'Workin' Them Angels' from the last album. The instrumental 'Leave That Thing Alone' turns into a Geddy Lee bass showcase towards the end, but probably the most unexpected tracks are 'Faithless', a song from 'Snakes & Arrows' that hasn't been played before, and the brand new 'BU2B', which indicates that the next album may see them returning to a heavy power trio.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The main part of the second set is taken up with the whole of 'Moving Pictures', which is a great idea as it's the one that everyone seems to love, even if they do slightly trim the highly anticipated 'The Camera Eye'. Personally I don't go a bundle on some of the new sound effects and back projections, particularly the circus noises that drown out the opening riff to 'Limelight', and 'Vital Signs' doesn't flow as well as the album version, but the intro video to 'Tom Sawyer' and the general clowning around that backs most of the song, is inspired and indicative of their sense of humour. They follow it up with the other new song, the sinister 'Caravan', before Neil Peart's excellent drum solo and Alex Lifeson's acoustic guitar piece, which morphs into 'Closer To The Heart'. The fun rendition of 'Overture/The Temples Of Syrinx' is always entertaining and would have made a great ending to the set, although for reasons best known to themselves they follow it with 'Far Cry' as the set closer.

The encores of 'La Villa Strangiato' and 'Working Man' have been changed somewhat from what we're used to, but on the whole it's a great show that, as it was designed for huge outdoor venues, has a less impressive light show for the first set as it was still broad daylight outside.Note that it's also available as a double CD and on vinyl (YAY!), but if the recession is biting then the DVD, preferable the Blu-ray version, is the one to get...

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site