Black Country Communion - 'Live Over Europe' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 31, 2012    
0.0 (0)
7762   0   1   0   0   0



Essential to anybody who enjoyed their two albums to date.

If you've spent any time reading this magazine recently, going to High Voltage, liking good old-fashioned classic rock music or generally living on Planet Earth, chances are you'll have heard of Black Country Communion somewhere. The supergroup, boasting guitar hero Joe Bonamassa, Glenn Hughes, Jason Bonham and Derek Sherinian, shook the rock world up with their debut self-titled album, which appeared in the business end of the UK album charts. With some classic hard-rocking tracks and Glenn Hughes back in full rock mode, the band quickly set about releasing their second, and in my opinion far superior, second album with a view to hitting the road: having two albums worth of material to choose from.

The plan worked flawlessly and now the supergroup has been filmed on their travels for this live DVD. Initially, when I read it was filmed at different shows I thought it might look a bit disjointed. I much prefer live documents to record one night but in actuality, this works rather well, showing some performances in smaller club venues, all dark, up close and personal, to playing vast festival crowds. To BCC's credit, it doesn't matter how big the audience is, the performance rocks the same everywhere.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Inevitably guitar fans will be checking out Bonamassa, but being a Hughes fan for years is what brought me to the dance, so I'll start with him. Glenn is in superb form on this DVD and best of all, his vocals are very faithful to the album versions. In the past, he has been known to scream, or in some cases, shriek, his way through an otherwise perfectly good tune. Sometimes he'd use that amazing voice to its full potential but over-sing. Not here; these are great live versions of what are on the studio recordings and therefore rate as some of my favourite performances.

Bonamassa is just brilliant - playing everything effortlessly and flawlessly, his vocals complimenting those from Hughes very well. He handles lead vocals too and does a sterling job. With the immense Bonham thundering away on the drums and the refined skill of Sherinian's keyboard playing, you have a formidable quartet. All would be for naught if the songs were no good, but just about all of my favourite BCC tracks are here - the driving 'One Last Soul', the epic 'Save Me', the haunting 'Faithless', the powerhouse 'I Can See Your Spirit'... you can't go wrong. With fourteen tracks from their two albums, padded out by Bonamassa's excellent solo tune 'The Ballad Of John Henry' and the Deep Purple classic 'Burn' there really isn't any room for filler.

On top of this textbook guide to classic rock, there is a bonus disk featuring a making of the DVD, plus snippets of each of the band members and producer Kevin Shirley talking. Beautifully packaged with a lavish booklet, Black Country Communion continues to drive forward with their brand of excellence. This DVD is essential to anybody who enjoyed their two albums to date.

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site