CD Reviews

Tyketto – 'Dig In Deep' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 06, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5844   0   1   0   0   0




An absolute scorcher.

So here it is at long last the new album by the reformed (original line up) Tyketto. There was no little trepidation as I played this for the first time as it is for me the most exciting reformation of recent times. Recent history shows us that these things can go many different ways, The excellent Mr Big comeback, the rubbish Van Halen single trumped by a surprisingly excellent album, The brilliant but ultimately ignored Airrace, or the farcical…I give you the current Black Sabbath situation!

So what then has Danny, Brooke, Jaimie and Michael delivered here in 2012 a mere 21 years after the incredible debut that was Don’t Come Easy? Well I am both relieved and delighted to report that Dig In Deep is an absolute scorcher, from the misguiding Dream Theater like opening of Faithless it sails away on a sublime hook and chorus before giving way to Love to Love - not the UFO classic but equally deserving of note with a chunky riff and soaring melody that would have been at home on that distant debut classic.

Here’s Hoping It Hurts follows suit with a slightly funky but very commercial a la Bon Jovi style feel. The acoustic opening to Battle Lines perhaps gives a nod to Danny’s side job in the Ultimate Eagles with its laid back cruising feel and featuring a beautiful solo from Brooke St. James who then gets all Yngwie on us for the opening crescendo to The Fight Left Me which has Danny Vaughn in defiant mood and the band rolling behind in a stop start riff before another huge hook and chorus gives way to more guitar histrionics taking in some Latin grooves before rocking hard to the close.

Things ease off with the acoustic opening of Evaporate before the drums kick in and we are off on another classic romp with Danny asking ‘is there anybody that feels the way I do?’ I’m pretty sure there will be Mr Vaughn as this is fantastic stuff as the acoustic breakdown gives way to the full onslaught again and another future classic is created.

Monday eases in on a faintly countryish beat but with Danny’s voice soaring over the top and stabs of beauty from Brooke interspersing the verses a wistful but uplifting vocal and again I am singing along after only 2 or 3 listens. A potential single perhaps?

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

And so to the title track, a touch of Aerozep! With a rasping vocal and funky rhythm with a chanted chorus this is going to be a live favourite and has great ‘jam’ potential.

Next up Sound Off is vaguely reminiscent of Thunder’s Stand Up but again has enough variety in the mid-section to keep it interesting another probable live choice. Let This One Slide could be a direct lift from Don’t Come Easy, a mid-paced catchy rocker with another great chorus and super musicianship throughout. Which brings us to album closer This Is How We Say Goodbye. Acoustic and orchestrated, this is quite simply the most beautiful lyric/vocal Danny Vaughn has ever delivered, a hauntingly beautiful tale of love and devotion with the line ‘Family is what matters most of all’ echoing in my ears the song closes with its title and I find myself breathless. This is not just a throwaway ‘unplugged’ tag on at the end of the CD, this is what elevates an excellent comeback into a classic album that no Tyketto fan or fan of melodic rock in whatever form can afford to be without.

Tyketto are back and I hope sincerely that this is not how they say goodbye

Nikki Tylar

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

goodolboy said:

Great review, hope the cd is as good as this
March 08, 2012
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site