CD Reviews

Tyketto – 'Dig In Deep' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 06, 2012    
0.0 (0)
8438   0   1   0   0   0




An absolute scorcher.

So here it is at long last the new album by the reformed (original line up) Tyketto. There was no little trepidation as I played this for the first time as it is for me the most exciting reformation of recent times. Recent history shows us that these things can go many different ways, The excellent Mr Big comeback, the rubbish Van Halen single trumped by a surprisingly excellent album, The brilliant but ultimately ignored Airrace, or the farcical…I give you the current Black Sabbath situation!

So what then has Danny, Brooke, Jaimie and Michael delivered here in 2012 a mere 21 years after the incredible debut that was Don’t Come Easy? Well I am both relieved and delighted to report that Dig In Deep is an absolute scorcher, from the misguiding Dream Theater like opening of Faithless it sails away on a sublime hook and chorus before giving way to Love to Love - not the UFO classic but equally deserving of note with a chunky riff and soaring melody that would have been at home on that distant debut classic.

Here’s Hoping It Hurts follows suit with a slightly funky but very commercial a la Bon Jovi style feel. The acoustic opening to Battle Lines perhaps gives a nod to Danny’s side job in the Ultimate Eagles with its laid back cruising feel and featuring a beautiful solo from Brooke St. James who then gets all Yngwie on us for the opening crescendo to The Fight Left Me which has Danny Vaughn in defiant mood and the band rolling behind in a stop start riff before another huge hook and chorus gives way to more guitar histrionics taking in some Latin grooves before rocking hard to the close.

Things ease off with the acoustic opening of Evaporate before the drums kick in and we are off on another classic romp with Danny asking ‘is there anybody that feels the way I do?’ I’m pretty sure there will be Mr Vaughn as this is fantastic stuff as the acoustic breakdown gives way to the full onslaught again and another future classic is created.

Monday eases in on a faintly countryish beat but with Danny’s voice soaring over the top and stabs of beauty from Brooke interspersing the verses a wistful but uplifting vocal and again I am singing along after only 2 or 3 listens. A potential single perhaps?

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

And so to the title track, a touch of Aerozep! With a rasping vocal and funky rhythm with a chanted chorus this is going to be a live favourite and has great ‘jam’ potential.

Next up Sound Off is vaguely reminiscent of Thunder’s Stand Up but again has enough variety in the mid-section to keep it interesting another probable live choice. Let This One Slide could be a direct lift from Don’t Come Easy, a mid-paced catchy rocker with another great chorus and super musicianship throughout. Which brings us to album closer This Is How We Say Goodbye. Acoustic and orchestrated, this is quite simply the most beautiful lyric/vocal Danny Vaughn has ever delivered, a hauntingly beautiful tale of love and devotion with the line ‘Family is what matters most of all’ echoing in my ears the song closes with its title and I find myself breathless. This is not just a throwaway ‘unplugged’ tag on at the end of the CD, this is what elevates an excellent comeback into a classic album that no Tyketto fan or fan of melodic rock in whatever form can afford to be without.

Tyketto are back and I hope sincerely that this is not how they say goodbye

Nikki Tylar

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

goodolboy said:

Great review, hope the cd is as good as this
March 08, 2012
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 hours, 40 minutes ago
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download
  • RockingHerb : Thank You Berny.
  • Berny : Hello @snowwolf: Pls. check your mail! Thanks in advance! B.
  • snowwolf : I bought the new issue at noon yesterday and it is now 4am the next day. Any idea when I’ll be able to download it?
  • Berny : @RockingHerb: Many thanks for your purchase. Pls. check your mail.
  • RockingHerb : When will my recent purchase show in my downloads. there is a message saying up to 3 hours is this correct
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site