Sonic Station - 'Sonic Station' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 08, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4743   0   1   0   0   0



Beautifully arranged and produced.

Alexander Kronbrink is a Swedish composer and producer, who at an early age took up playing the guitar. A family friend who lived just down the road played piano and soon they were both jamming away and writing songs together. At around the age of twenty Kronbrink decided that he would dedicate his life solely to music and a lifelong passion began. After playing in a lot of different bands and genres he soon found a love for west coast rock, artists like Kenny Loggins, Lee Ritenour, Jay Graydon and Steely Dan became his passion and he decided that this was the kind of music he wanted to play. Alexander then went to the Royal College Of Music in Sweden where he met Marika Willstedt a singer and piano player whom he began writing songs with; this writing collaboration went on to be the building blocks of what would later become the Sonic Station album.

The album itself is one that encompasses many aspects of west coast AOR, and having four different singers involved on it and having the songs tailored to their individual vocal talents, might you may think, be a bit of a mish mash. It isn’t because what you get on the album are smooth, jazzy west coast songs mixed with slices of AOR, and a little melodic rock squeezed in for good measure. The four vocalists Magnus Backlund, Marika Willstedt, Kristoffer Fogelmark and Tove Lo all have an easy going lilt to their voices, and each singer brings out the best of the songs they get to sing. Yet with four singers it would be hard to tell you about every song on the album so I’ll pick one from each of them.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

‘Gonna Show You The Way’ features Backlund and it’s a track that wouldn’t be out of place on any of the AOR albums, it is the rockiest track on the album and the guitar work of Kronbrink is just wonderful. ‘Never Let The Sunshine Die’ is sung by Fogelmark, and it reminded me of the Michael Thompson Band circa their debut album; the guitar work throughout the song is simply stunning and the song has that cool nonchalance that all the great songs seem to have. Lo sings on ‘You Have To Let Me Go’ which reminded me of Tone Norum’s first album, poppy with crunchy guitars the song rocks. And finally to Willstedt and ‘Running Through The Night’, a Totoesque cut that once again shows off all the best things about west coast rock.

For a debut album ‘Sonic Station’ shows a maturity beyond its years. It is beautifully arranged and produced, the guitar of Kronbrink (who is a real find) is superb and each singer puts in a powerful and emotional performance. So, if you have a liking for all things west coast, then you’ll definitely want to add this album to your collection.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site