Helix - 'Wild In The Streets' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 09, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4663   0   1   0   0   0




Another Helix remaster by Rock Candy.

By 1987 Canadian rockers Helix could feel a change coming that they really had no control over. Signed to the US arm of Capitol Records, the 'Long Way To Heaven' album had failed to live up to the sales of 'No Rest For The Wicked' and 'Walkin' The Razor's Edge'. It had done well elsewhere but the label didn't really care about that, and with the usual tales of changes in Capitol personnel, the band were sent away to make another record only because they were still contracted to. Also, in the intervening two years between albums the Bon Jovi phenomenon had happened, labels were all trying to find the next big band and suddenly Helix found themselves with far more competition for attention at their own label.

In a bid to get more radio play they also felt the need to change producers, which led to a rather fractured recording schedule after the original idea of having five top producers handle two songs each fell apart. They'd already done 'Wild In The Streets' and 'Give 'Em Hell' with Neil Kernon in three days in England and moved on to Mike Stone, who'd just been fired by David Coverdale. Starting the recording with Stone in Toronto, he decided he couldn't work there and insisted that the label give him the rest of the album to do and the money to spend several weeks at Richard Branson's Manor Studio in Oxfordshire, accounting for the whole budget for the album, and then some.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Again the band had only managed to come up with seven songs in six months so others were picked for them, including the killer Nazareth ballad 'Dream On', an unreleased Joe Elliott song called 'She's Too Tough' - which Leppard eventually recorded themselves as a B-Side - and a song by FM duo Steve and Chris Overland called 'Never Gonna Stop The Rock' - the band loved the first two but hated the latter. Personally I think they're three of the strongest tracks along with the typical Helix rockers 'Wild In The Streets', 'High Voltage Kicks', 'Shot Full Of Love' and 'Kiss It Goodbye'. There were a couple of fillers in 'What Ya Bringing To The Party' and 'Love Hungry Eyes', but it was a pretty decent album that just fell a little short of the anticipated quality.

It's again odd that whilst bassist Daryl Gray does get to play on this one, drummer Greg 'Fritz' Hinz is augmented by Mickey Curry (Bryan Adams), Matt Frenette (Loverboy) and even former Helix drummer Brian Doerner (Saga, Refugee), guitarist Brent's twin brother. The remastering gives the album some much needed bottom end and the knowledgeable Paul Suter gives a good insight into the turmoil affecting the band at the time. Despite good initial promotion, the label soon pulled the plug on the album due to lack of sales and 'Wild In The Streets' was the last album they made for Capitol US, and probably the last Helix remaster by Rock Candy too.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 19 hours, 32 minutes ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site