Eden Sands - 'Living Kills' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 12, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3813   0   1   0   0   0




A decent but unremarkable release.

Eden Sands is a melodic metal band from Lorraine in France and were formed back in 2006. They have spent a few years putting together their debut album and in 2011 it finally saw its release. The band comprises of Ex Northwind vocalist Stefan Tudela, Yoan Da Costa (guitar), Maxence Hughes (guitars), Vinz (bass) and Benjamin Nogaret (drums).

The French quintet kicks off this debut album with ‘Path Of Life’, a track that starts with nothing but Tudela’s lone vocals before the guitars fire up at quite a pace. It wouldn’t be unfair to compare this to a Maiden-like gallop. The guitars thunder away relentlessly behind the punchy verse lyrics. ‘You’ll Sink’ also has a similar style especially in its pace. This time the bass plays a more prominent role in powering the song. This track also features a duet between Tudela and Sylvie Camus. Their styles complement each other well and this number is one of the more memorable. ‘Golden Fangs, Hungry Dogs’ and ‘Scream’ see the band using a crunchier sound, the later is very reminiscent of Funeral For A Friend with the screaming shrieks combined with traditional chorus singing.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

It opens in a very mellow style with short picked notes on the guitar, before a power chord progression takes off midway through the first verse. This is probably the most modern sounding entry on ‘Living Kills’. ‘From Dark To Light’ is the only ballad found on the release. It gives Tudela a chance to show his passionate side and display a great singing range as his voice powers the song along with just an acoustic guitar. Eden Sands close out the album with two tracks that could be described as the most progressive on the album. ‘Last Will’ and ‘Taste Of Hope’ both contain several time changes and varying different chord progressions. The first contains a rather memorable riff in its foundations where as the later probably just rates as the best song on the album. A slow thudding riff gives way to a soaring progression and vocals from the lead man. The pretty chorus is catchy including some harmonics from the rest of the band.

This album as far as debuts goes is a fair effort whilst not being anything outstanding or especially new. Eden Sands’ sound could be compared to early Iron Maiden with a little Rush thrown in for good measure. Their last two tracks stray a little from this comparison and venture into Symphony X territory with a more progressive sound. Musically the guys from France show plenty of promise with the two axe men showing some accomplished licks on the six strings whilst Tudela has a decent voice. The production is pretty clean and does add a quality, polished finish to the tunes. Overall, however, this is a decent but unremarkable release and one which shows some potential but will require work to take things to the next level.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site