CD Reviews

Renegade Five - 'Undergrounded Universe' Hot

Added by James Gaden     March 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4062   0   1   0   0   0



Debut album from Swedish five piece.


Renegade Five are a five piece band from Karlstad in Sweden and ‘Undergrounded Universe’ is their debut full length release. “Never judge a book by it’s cover” is an observation that fits this album perfectly as the picture of the band adorning the CD booklet would seem to suggest a youthful band plying a pop music trade. Though we’re not in Metallica territory here the pop music allegory certainly doesn’t apply and I was pleasantly surprised after playing the album through for the first time. The quality is unquestionable and this opinion has only been compounded after further spins.

The blend of Finnish attitude and stylings coupled with a sense of commerciality synonymous with everything Swedish has resulted in a highly addictive CD that is still giving me constant pleasure despite it’s unoriginal structure and conventional approach. Sweeping orchestral atmospherics punctured by crunching riffs and powerful rhythms generates a Rasmus/Within Temptation hybrid and 4 or 5 tracks into ‘Undergrounded Universe’ these comparisons become even more apparent. ‘Darkest Age’ could have come from any of the last few Rasmus albums whilst ‘Shadows’ has a melody line resembling ‘Stand My Ground’ from Within Temptation’s ‘The Silent Force’ opus. Layers of keyboards and a purposeful use of strings, complimented by occasionally intense guitar passages, embellish the epic qualities and add to the WT comparisons despite the obvious budgetary constraints.

The album has a nice pacing and balances the more urgent tracks intelligently with those of a more reflective nature. ‘Love Will Remain’ is imbued with an almost down-beat sense of melancholy but sits nicely next to the more authoritative exuberance of ‘Stand For Your Rights’. Hardly the most enigmatic of singers, Per Nylin moulds his voice to the material with considerable ease and at times his breathy delivery becomes quite hypnotic. Most of the songs avoid an urgent sonic assault, the subtle melodies infused with a Gothic undercurrent allowing them to slowly become embedded in the subconscious. ‘Seven Days’ contains a refrain of instant appeal whilst ‘Too Far Away’ marries guitars and keys in Within Temptation style again though the semi-acoustic verse qualifies as a thoughtful variation.

Though the guitars tend to be a little low in the mix, keyboards dominating at times and one or two tracks tend to have that ‘samey’ feel, the overiding quality still remains of a high standard. ‘Set My Heart On Fire’ closes the album strongly with another infectious hook and an engaging song structure then before you know it you’re hitting repeat and the auditory delights begin again.

Dave Bott


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 1 hour ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site