Damian Wilson - 'I Thought The World Was Listening (1997 - 2011)' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 15, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3757   0   1   0   0   0

Quality rock music that is emotionally powerful.

Becoming a member of the Classic Rock Society at the turn of the millennium led to a significant re-expansion in my gig attending, which in turn introduced me to new music from bands whose output could have remained below my radar. One such band was Threshold, by then featuring “Mac” (Andrew McDermott) on vocals, although Wilson had been the original vocalist, and before that was lead singer with the prog band Landmarq. He then joined the ‘Les Misérables’ touring company where he had the lead role of Jean Valjean. He released his first solo album (in singer/songwriter mode) ‘Cosmas’ in 1997 followed by ‘Disciple’ four years later.

Thus it was I attended my first CRS ‘BOTYS’ (Best Of The Year Show) in December 2001. Pendragon headlined, with Wilson as support. I was captivated by the sensitive nature of his repertoire (quite different from his approach with Threshold) and by one of the most captivating performances by a solo performer I have ever witnessed. Purchase of the then newly-released ‘Disciple’ was de rigueur after that, of course, and it was no surprise that he also walked away with the ‘Best Male Singer’ gong (as he also did the following year). It was a while later that I purchased ‘Cosmas’ but both albums reveal very personal and emotional material associated with upheavals in his personal life, such as the heartfelt ‘Never Close The Door’. As I was also experiencing the final throes of a long-standing relationship at this time, many of the songs resonated very deeply with me – and, in fact, still do. These two albums provide nine of the thirty one tracks included here in their original form, plus four that have been re-recorded and also the divine demo recording of ‘Homegrown’ (from ‘Cosmas’).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

His two later albums ‘Live In Rehearsal’ and ‘Let’s Start A Commune’ provide a further eleven songs as originally issued plus one re-recording. The remainder of the songs included on this very attractively presented double CD set are new. It really is an intoxicating overview of his solo output these past fourteen years, and should appeal to all readers of this magazine except those whose tastes are at the heavier end of the melodic spectrum and for whom often sparse, acoustic, piano or string quartet-backed songs are insufficiently substantive. For the rest of you unfamiliar with his solo work, this perhaps not quite definitive collection should easily reward purchase, but be prepared to discover what a versatile performer Wilson is, in case you are not already aware from his numerous guest appearances on the albums of others. Songs such as opener ‘Disciple’ and following song ‘Commune’ (lyrically including the present album’s title) immediately set the scene but the musical shades that emanate from the speakers thereafter are all an absolute delight to these ears.

A wonderful treasure trove that is required listening for anyone who enjoys quality rock music that is emotionally powerful.

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 8 hours ago
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site