Rick Wakeman - 'Caped Crusader Collectors Club: Bootleg Box Vol. 2' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 15, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4346   0   1   0   0   0

I enjoyed it immensely.

There is always the risk when acquiring bootleg recordings, whether they are official or otherwise, that the sound quality will be found wanting and leave the listener disappointed.

Fortunately the quality across the five discs presented here is generally better than average but will probably still only engage the attention of diehard fans, who no doubt are exactly the people it’s aimed at. That said if you wanted to get acquainted with Wakeman’s work then this would actually be a good start because there is some tremendous music on offer.

Needless to say the famous Wakeman humour is in evidence throughout, both in his between song banter and in his musical selections. The first disc (Hammersmith 1976) has the band diverting into the ‘Monty Python’ theme in the middle of the ‘Catherine Howard’ track.

This show provides a nice mix of material with tracks being taken from each of his albums up to that date, although the use of a brass section on some tracks grates on me a bit. Full orchestra (as appears elsewhere) is fine but the brass doesn’t fit well, particularly where it is replacing well known and much loved synth sounds.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The strange chronology of this collection then takes us to Norwich in 1997, where the sound quality is extremely good and the set list eclectic, featuring covers of Bowie’s ‘Space Oddity/Life on Mars’ and George Harrison’s ‘While My Guitar Gently Weeps’. One of the highlights is the piano solo (or is it a duet with his dad?) by Adam Wakeman; it’s a beautiful piece. ‘The Breathalyser’ famously sung by Bill Oddie on ‘Criminal Record’ makes an appearance and it’s good to hear a trilogy from ‘1984’.

Disc three is from Crystal Palace in 1974; it’s an audience recording and therefore is of dubious quality, which is shame as it’s a terrific set. It also shows that the annoying trend of members of the audience talking isn’t new. Discs four and five are the best of the bunch as they reproduce almost the entire set from Preston in 1981. The sound is good and the performances right up there with the best, in fact the band is on fire with splendid renditions of a wide range of material. The ‘1984’ album is well represented and the medleys from ‘King Arthur’, ‘Six Wives’ and ‘Journey…’) are all wonderful. The band gets to show off their chops on ‘Shuffle’ (albeit introduced with a different title by Wakeman) as well as ‘Big Bem Party’ and ‘Wooly Willy Tango’.

If nothing else, listening to this collection made me realise the depth and variety of Wakeman’s solo work and making me think that I really need to dig out some of those less famous early albums (on vinyl) for a full reappraisal. It probably wouldn’t have occurred to me to buy this set but having been sent it I’m very pleased to have it and to have enjoyed it immensely.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days ago
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site