Riotgod - 'Invisible Empire' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 19, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5317   0   1   0   0   0



Bombastic, no nonsense hard rock album.

Riotgod is a stoner/heavy rock band from New Jersey, USA. Current Monster Magnet members Bob Pantella and Jim Baglino were touring with The Magnet back in 2006 when they both discussed a desire to express their own ideas. Once the tour finished, they decided to explore this further. Other members were needed and Psycho Daisy guitarist Garrett Sweeny agreed to join. The final piece was completed when local singer Mark Sunshine came onboard. After a lot of touring, the self titled debut was released in 2010. Whilst writing the follow up the band hit the road once again and at the end of 2011 this, their sophomore effort was released.

‘Invisible Empire’ is a clever infusion of stoner progressions and classic heavy rock melodies. The opener ‘Breed’ is one of the catchiest offerings; it is fuelled by a retro progression which is highly memorable along with a pounding beat. There is something about this track that brings to mind Queen but if they had come out in the mid 90’s. The first few bars of ‘Saving It Up’ screams heavy Status Quo. The chorus is a punchy, rasping affair vocally and delivered with plenty of attitude. Alternatively the likes of ‘Fool’ ‘Crossfade’ and ‘Firebrand’ all come straight out of the stoner era with powerful riffs in the verse and vocals delivered with guts and swagger. Riotgod show that they are not just about constant rocking as three differing ballads show. ‘Gas Station Roses’ is an acoustic guitar effort with a little slide guitar in the back ground whereas ‘Loosily Bound’ is a more electric powered slow burner, think a stoner power ballad. The final one closes out the release and is a real seventies styled psychedelic ballad with soaring harmonies and an acoustic melody on the guitar.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

To put it simply this album rocks! It is a quality hard rock release full of marauding riffs, thundering rhythms as well as vocals delivered with plenty of aplomb. With its mixture of modern takes on classic sounds this has the potential to appeal to plenty of listeners. Those that love old school hard rock such as Judas Priest, Rush or Led Zeppelin will find enough songs and content here to enjoy this record. But this retro foundation is all wrapped up in a stoner rock exterior that will appeal to those with a taste for things more modern; acts such as Soundgarden, Reef and Queens Of The Stone Age for example. With contributions from such established musicians there is no surprise that musically this album is of a high calibre. The guitar work is both impressively written and skilfully performed. Sunshine is a bright light as the front man and his vocal style is an excellent fit. The production is crisp but still retains a rawness that only adds to the authentic classic feel.

This is a bombastic, no nonsense hard rock album that ticks all the boxes and should provide plenty of entertainment to listeners of many genres.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 hours, 18 minutes ago
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site