Concert Reviews

Dragonforce / Pythia Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 28, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5230   0   1   0   0   0


Dragonforce / Pythia - Club 100, London (UK)– 16th February 2012

As close an encounter as any Dragonforce obsessive could have dreamed of, London's legendary Club 100 is already abuzz with anticipation as newbie singer Marc Hudson prepares to prove his chops in the most unforgivingly intimate of gigs. Stripped of studio gloss and sophisticated PA systems, the club's rather boxy, hit-and-miss acoustics have seen many a lesser band crash and burn. But for the cheering hordes gathered here in the thick of an otherwise gloomy working week, expectations among fans have rarely been so lofty.

Bedecked in epic, heavy duty armour atop the Club 100's altogether more modest stage, London symphonic crusaders Pythia make an unintentionally pantomime-ish first impression. But happily, the blistering, breakneck-paced metal they deal in is anything but amateur as Emily Ovenden's muscular pipes soar effortlessly above a monstrous mass of blastbeats and medieval-style symphonies. Unshakably full-bodied in delivery, the expert songstress leads a pummelling yet nimbly operatic assault that's rich in nods to early Nightwish. And though the keyboard-driven flourishes featured here are occasionally muffled by Pythia's more metallic dynamics, theirs is a largely razor-sharp, wildly energetic outing.

However humble their surroundings, Dragonforce's anticipated entrance could never be anything less than explosive as these seasoned entertainers plunge headlong into fan favourite 'Heroes Of Our Time.' Enjoyed at extraordinarily close range, it's no surprise that this super-charged slab of riff candy stirs fans into an instant frenzy that, by the track's euphoric, Nintendo-esque solo, leaves jaws agape throughout the venue. While Herman Li's acrobatic shredding makes for a typically limelight-stealing spectacle, all eyes are on newcomer Marc Hudson tonight, who, despite a couple of initial sound gremlins, quickly proves a steel-lunged force to be reckoned with. But for all his effortless talent, the youthful singer is refreshingly free from rock star posturing in a show that witnesses the five-piece at the top of their gloriously epic game.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Plucked from fresh full-length 'The Power Within,' choice cut 'Cry Thunder' pushes Hudson's seemingly limitless vocal range to stratospheric new heights. Pinned down by skull-splitting beats and death-tinged grooves, this satisfyingly ferocious call to arms strikes an intelligent balance between infectious hooks and face-melting aggression. But it's with 'Starfire's' breathtaking balladry that the singer's more fluid and luxuriant tones come to the fore alongside a crowd-pleasing slew of Whitesnake-style riffage.

Hot on the heels of this early noughties anthem, new standout 'Lost Fallen World' sees the band storm fearlessly ahead into unpredictably speedy territory. Despite being introduced as Dragonforce's “fastest song ever,” this sound barrier-breaking number is no simple exercise in speed, with its taut riffage being neatly tied up in sing-along choruses and multi-directional licks. The varied mix of established favourites and fresh cuts that follow may scarcely be breaking new ground, but the entertainment value for which Dragonforce have long been adored has never been more unparalleled. .

Faye Coulman

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 14 hours ago
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site