CD Reviews

Joshua - 'Resurrection' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 07, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4288   0   1   0   0   0





This is a quality Melodic Rock album.

This is the first Joshua album since the magnificent Intense Defence back in (gulp) 1988!! One album as M Pire and one solo album have been the only fruits since that classic album. I did wonder what this would sound like all these years later but incredibly it is as though the last 24 years never happened. 

Accompanied by the incredible and unmistakeable voice of Mark Boals this promises to be a very interesting listen; so here we go!

Opener Divine Intervention is catchy pomp tinged AOR song and a great way to open the CD. Where Eagles Fly is a polite instrumental but it is Blood On The Nile which hits hard, also catchy but more rocking than the openers. Keys and acoustic guitars are featured in The Voice Of Reason which is another pomp /AOR classic in the making.

The music gets heavier and Joshua’s guitar playing is jaw dropping throughout, World At War is epic the next few tracks are more akin to debut mini LP Hand is Quicker Than The Eye than intense Defence, but so much the better for it as they are all quality commercial hard rock with Promises in particular being a slight departure from the norm, with an almost heavy feel to it.

Behind The Walls has a great bluesy vibe to it a little more reminiscent of his M Pire release with perhaps a nod to the Surrender album. The Darker Side Of Men is the heaviest track on the album with wailing guitar and heavy drumbeat underpinning a very impressive vocal which has more than a passing resemblance to the late great Mr Dio.

Living Out A Lie and the slightly bluesy Miracles are much more recognisable and again would sit nicely alongside the Intense Defence album material both songs rocking quite nicely whilst retaining strong melodies.

The semi-instrumental gospel religious Sing Hallelujah is the only track to leave me cold here but then I am aware of Joshua’s beliefs and respect his right to express them in his work. There are two bonus tracks on the limited edition along with a radio edit of Blood On The Nile (I prefer the long version). Dirty Games is classic 80s hard rock and catchy as hell whilst the final track, the beautiful Secrets, is I believe an Intense Defence outtake with Rob Rock on vocals. I have to wonder why this is only seeing the light of the day now as it is fantastic commercial AOR song that zips along nicely and really would have made a good single all those years ago.

So an excellent return by the great man whose playing throughout is as excellent as any fan would expect. In Mark Boals he has found the perfect foil for his melodic music and there are only good songs on this album. The lyrics do have a tendency to lean toward the spiritual as one might expect but they do not preach or over labour any religious point. The most incredible thing about this album though, is that it manages to take elements of all Joshua’s previous works and blend them into a very enjoyable listen, if you are a fan of any or all of his previous work then there is something here for you. This is a quality Melodic Rock album which will be getting repeated plays over the weeks to come.

Nikki Tylar

(Note: Limited to 888 copies, all signed, which can be ordered via

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 10 hours, 4 minutes ago
  • Berny : @ARONITY: Thanks for your order. As stated in the item's description, it can take up to three hours for your purchase to be processed. You should have received a mail containing the download instructions by now. Thanks for your patience!
  • ARONTY : Hi, Just ordered #88 pdf, Paypal show the payment, but no d/l link, please help..
  • Berny : @John: Pls. check your mail, this should have been sorted by now. Apologies for the delay!
  • johnmason : Hi. I paid for #88 and it doesn't show up in the licenses/Downloads and I never received any email telling me how to download it.
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks Magazine #88 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks Berny got it
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Not sure why the password disappeared, but it's back. Pls. download your copy from the usual place (i.e. Fireworks - > Bonus CD 87 on the TOP menu). Have fun! :)
  • SeaDog57 : Berny looking for the link and password to Issue 87 free music
  • Berny : @yvesrock: Apologies for the troubles. I've just sent you an email.
  • yvesrock : Hi,I ordered the 11th june the new Fireworks' magazine (issue 87) and I didn't receive it. Can you see if you sent it ? Best wishes Yves
  • yvesrock : Hi,
  • Berny : @Gazza2005: Please accept my apologies for the delay in processing your order. You should have received a confirmation mail by now. We are really trying our best to fix the payment issue as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience! PS: It seems as if you sent the payment twice, we sent you a refund.
  • Gazza2005 : I have bought issue 80 and I still ha e not had confirmation of my download. Please could this be sorted out
  • Gazza2005 : Hello. Can someone direct me to my download please
  • Gazza2005 : Can someone help please
  • Gazza2005 : It’s Fireworks 80
  • Gazza2005 : Just paid for my online version / download but I keep getting failure message. All paid for so what is going on
  • Berny : Sorted! Thanks for your patience, enjoy the magazine! :)
  • HenningHallq : Hey guys! I purchased FIREWORKS #87 yesterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account. Can you help me with this? Thanks a lot!
  • Siodmak : Really thanks !!!!
  • Berny : @Siodmak: Pls. do not worry about the error message, we currently have to process orders manually because of a n issue with our payment system. I do not want to bore you with technical details, but the redirection from PayPal to our shop does not work as it should, that's why your purchase is not assigned automatically. We are working on it! Sorry for the troubles & thanks for your understanding. We hope you like the new issue of Fireworks! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys : - ) same problem as with previous number: just purchased Fireworks Mag. 87, and this is the message: "We are sorry, but it looks like your transaction failed". I've paid it with paypol. Thanks for your help!!
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site