CD Reviews

End Of September - 'End Of September' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 10, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4887   0   1   0   0   0


Debut by the Swedish female fronted metal band.

End Of September is a Swedish female fronted metal band founded in 2009 by guitarist Eric Tordsson. A demo was swiftly recorded but shortly after their vocalist left, which resulted in the idea being shelved for two years. Last year he finally completed the line up and in 2012 EOS will be releasing their self titled debut.

This opens with ‘Isolated and a truly raucous riff, the verse is more delicate with silky vocals and chiming notes before that deep riff powers back up. ‘Left In This World’ and ‘Waiting For The Rain’ also follow this formula of heavy start/chorus and softer verses. ‘World’ has a bouncier progression to its design and is one of the few songs that increases a little in pace. ‘Rain’s opening is less crunchy and it has one of the more memorable guitar melodies during the chorus. The dripping keys, sounding like rain drops, adds a really good atmosphere. ‘Fallen’ has another huge opening that is stripped back a notch, becoming a memorable grind, before returning to its original state for the chorus. ‘Inner Voice’ also has a bit more of a grind about its riff in the verse whilst the chorus lead in has an uplifting revolving melody. ‘A Place To Go’ and ‘Exile’ are more traditionally metal based with a bombastic, crunchy riff driving the former, whilst a slow chugging progression does so for the later. The album closes out with the other two songs that show a slight pace increase. ‘Silence’ powers along with another toned down riff, one which leads into an impressive effects laced melody in the chorus. ‘Autumn Breaks’ has more of a swirling composition that shows up at various points throughout.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

This is a solid debut from EOS. Their style is more standard metal than symphonic, more Lacuna Coil/Evanescence than Nightwish. Elgin has a good, expressive and clear voice but it does feel like she is pushing her limits occasionally when the song really requires a serious burst. Tordsson is a delight conjuring up some delicious riffs whilst giving plenty vocally with a good array of styles. He’s also responsible for the writing as well as the mixing and mastering. For the latter he should be highly commended for producing a crisp and fresh sound which allows everything to be picked out. However, on the writing side this album falls down, the lack of diversity in pace and structure is its biggest flaw. There is no discernible ballad or any songs which show Tordsson really stepping on the accelerator. Some of the tracks grind a little more; others show a half step of pace more but nothing that truly separates the tracks. But this one gripe doesn’t total destroy a good listening experience. There are some fine songs that are well played and the band shows a lot of promise.

This could be an act to keep an eye on; if they can show a bit more variety then they could become a fine female fronted metal band.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site