CD Reviews

Fozzy - 'Sin And Bones' Hot

Added by James Gaden     August 15, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4593   0   1   0   0   0





Fozzy's third all original album, and their best to date.

Most people who have read my reviews and interviews in the past will know I'm a huge fan of the band Fozzy, which features WWE Superstar Chris Jericho on vocals and Stuck Mojo guitarist Rich Ward on guitar. I've liked just about everything Chris has ever done, from wrestling to writing to singing and the same goes for much of Rich Ward's recent musical output, especially the superb ‘Walking With Kings’ album and his expertly craftily solo record 'My Kung Fu Is Good'. I read on Facebook how pumped Jericho has been over 'Sin And Bones', and Rich Ward told me he thought this was the best thing Fozzy has ever done, if not the best thing he has ever done. Therefore, I was rather excited to hear what the band had come up with for this, their fifth album, and third of all original material.

'Sin And Bones' starts brightly with 'Spider In My Mouth', which thunders along courtesy of drummer Frank Fontserre's pounding and Rich Ward's crunching riff. Jericho has improved as a vocalist over the years and sounds in tremendous form here, and things only improve with 'Sandpaper', the band's first single. Chris sings at the top of his range, and is augmented by M Shadows from Avenged Sevenfold joining in the fun. The track boasts Fozzy's trademark power riffing but features a new, more melodic dimension in the chorus which previously wasn't as noticeable in their work. 'Blood Happens' shows they can still rock out at breakneck speed, before 'Inside My Head' slows things down and lets Jericho demonstrate his versatility. This slower number is excellent, building on the foundation laid by 'Broken Soul' on Fozzy's last album - this track reminding me of a hybrid of Ozzy Osbourne circa 'Ozzmosis' and Fozzy's classic 'Enemy'. 

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The title track is textbook Fozzy and will please any existing fan, before the brooding 'A Passed Life' shows yet another string to the band's bow. The best offering, for me though, is the awesome 'She's My Addiction', featuring a great riff, a thunderous verse, a terrific vocal from Chris and a brilliant chorus fleshed out with some organ work and female backing vocals. Once heard, never forgotten, and a classic example of how Fozzy have woven more melody into their work while keeping their metal edge.

Also worthy of mention is another epic, the eleven and a half minute 'Storm The Beaches' which tells the story of a soldier in the Second World War. Much like its predecessor 'Wormwood' on 'Chasing The Grail', 'Storm The Beaches' is a sprawling, multi-part song that flows and goes by in what seems like half the time listed.

With all these additions to the Fozzy canon, I found 'Sin and Bones' took me longer than their previous records to really get to grips with, but that's because it's easily the most diverse. It still rocks hard, but I've grown to really embrace the new elements the band have added. The best album they've made? Yes gentlemen, I concur!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site