Scarleth - 'Break The Silence' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 17, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4483   0   1   0   0   0



A decent debut.

Scarleth is a gothic power metal band from Ukraine formed in 2005. They have played some 140 shows since then and have also released several demos. In between the band has worked tirelessly on their first record including taking some 16 months on the artwork!

‘Broken World’ opens at break neck speed with a thrash like riff supported by a very powerful melody. This exhausting tempo recedes a little but soon fires back for the chorus. Grand keys open ‘Child Of The Forest’ before a more pounding progression is released. Scarleth follows these two galloping tracks with the most eclectic song suitably titled ‘Crazy Fever’. The most foreboding intro of bass and gothic keys creates a haunting atmosphere. The guitar fires up a crunchy riff then suddenly the keys disappear off into a jazz composition. The song returns on track with that slow crunching riff during the verse and chorus leading to a frantically fast guitar and keys solo. Regretfully the messy jazz keys really spoil this claustrophobic track.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The remainder of the album continues at a lesser tempo. ‘Shadow Fades Away’ is an epic number that explodes with some retro keyboards before being joined by the six string grinding away. This comes to a sudden halt for a much stripped verse before returning for a crunchy chorus and haunting solo. This is just beaten for best song by ‘World Depends On You’ which is wonderfully uplifting track. This precocious rocker is full of fun and energy showing the band at their most simple and infectious. To close out they opt for two tracks that dip their toes into progressive genres. ‘Flaming Angel’ has deep thundering riff and bass whilst the keys provide an eastern flavour whereas ‘You’ll Never Die’ is an atmospheric number that has all the feel of being thrown around a crashing open sea due to a pulverizing progression.

This is a decent debut, nothing surprising or exceptional but a good listen. Julia Elyashova has a crisp clear voice that has depth but she does have an accent to her singing which may not be to everyone’s preference, and it’s worth noting that she has now been replaced by Olga Marenich. It is obvious that each member of the band can play his chosen instrument extremely well with various solos scattered throughout, especially guitarist Victor Morozov who shows a great and varied ability. The production is well handled and the album has a clarity and crispness which helps the multi faceted output. Those with a passion for power, battle and epic metal should enjoy this as should those with a love of varied metal styles. However some might find the fantasy lyrics off putting and some with a love of straight up metal will find the extended interludes indulgent and drawn out. Neither of these negatives is unwarranted, but it does depend on your palette. This is an agreeable power metal vehicle and shows plenty of tenacity, ability and promise.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site