Aeon Zen - 'Enigma' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 30, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5980   0   1   0   0   0





Quite a phenomenal achievement.

A couple of years ago those of you with a progressive metal bent may remember me waxing lyrical in these pages about Cambridge-based prodigious talent Rich Hinks and his band Aeon Zen. At the time they’d just released their second album ‘Face Of The Unknown’, with Rich, barely into his twenties, handling all guitar, bass, keyboard, drum and occasional vocal duties, as well as writing, production, mix and mastering. On the previous two releases most of the vocals were done by invited guests of the calibre of Nils K.Rue (Pagan’s Mind), Michael Eriksen (Circus Maximus), Andy Kravljaca (Silent Call) Nick D’Virgilio (Spock’s Beard) and Jem Godfrey (Frost), but with the next step being to go out and play live, Rich built a band around himself and Andy Kravljaca and supported the mercurial Devin Townsend on his European tour.

On ‘Enigma’ Rich pretty much plays everything himself yet again but has approached the vocals a little differently. Rather than losing continuity by having his guests sing different songs he's cleverly arranged the vocal lines so that he, Andi and guests Jonny Tatum (Eumeria), Atle Pettersen (Above Symmetry) or Nate Loosemore (Lost In Thought) all sing different parts in the same song. 'Enigma's first nine tracks make up a concept, with a short atmospheric instrumental and eight vocal tracks with plenty of light and shade, breathtaking ensemble playing and poignant changes of mood and tempo.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

There's too much going on to describe everything in detail, but the likes of 'Artificial Soul', 'Turned To Ash' and 'Still Human' all twist and turn without losing focus and the vocalists are all great and used to their best effect, with the lighter tones of Rich himself as a counterpoint. 'Divinity' and 'Eternal Snow' have bursts of growly vocals on the heavier parts, and I'm not sure if they work, but they're relatively short and don't detract too much from the main melodies. Special mention must be made of 'Seven Hills', a mature ballad with waves of sound and even a saxophone solo (can you guess who played it?), and the superb 'Warning', an amazing piece of music with an intro reminiscent of Devin Townsend at his most grandiose and a song structure that brings to mind the much missed Enchant. The track 'Downfall' ends the concept section and reprises a lot of the themes that have gone before.

The standard CD version has two bonus tracks; 'Survival' being a fairly straight-forward prog-metal outing with staccato riffs and tight, intense rhythms, whilst 'Time Divide 2.0' is a new version of a song from the debut album and is sharper and superior to the original. There's also a USB stick version that adds different bonus tracks, but whichever you choose you're getting a quality progressive release that can compete with any other new album in the genre. For a young man to have created this almost single-handedly in his studio in Cambridge is quite a phenomenal achievement.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site