CD Reviews

Walter Trout - 'Blues For The Modern Daze' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 31, 2012    
0.0 (0)
2448   0   1   0   0   0

I don't think you will hear a finer blues album this year.

Walter Trout is now into his sixth decade and ‘Blues For The Modern Daze’ represents his twenty-first release of a very productive and celebrated career. Schooled in the traditional Blues from an early age and putting much deference to the past, Walter cites seminal country gospel-bluesman Blind Willie Johnson as his main inspiration for this album. ‘His music is beautiful, primal, direct and deeply spiritual. I wanted to feel it at my back when we were cutting these songs’ says the Ocean City, New Jersey native. Having been a member of Canned Heat and sharing six-string duties with legendary Coco Montoya in John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers, he also shared the stage with John Lee Hooker for a time and invited a pre worldwide acclaimed Joe Bonamassa amongst others to play on his 2006 album ‘Full Circle’ marking him as a well respected member of the Blues community.

‘Saw My Mama Cryin’ is the opening track and first single which features an upbeat but traditional twelve-bar style and traditional lyrics yet with his distinctive electric blues picking on the solo followed by a modern take on the blues ballad with ‘Lonely’ featuring contemporary lyrics centred around ‘lonely’ people who only tend to interact with others on the internet through Facebook and other social media as well as mobile phones. In summing up regarding this album Trout states that ‘It sums up the thoughts and attitudes of somebody who is getting a little older and is feeling like he’s part of another era, with different values and a different perspective on life that’s prevalent today’.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

‘The Sky Is Fallin’ Down’ allows Trout to indulge in groove-laden stomping blues-rock with harmonica enthused accompaniment whilst continuing the flavour with a driving ZZ Top tinged ‘You Can’t Go Home Again’. ‘Blues For My Baby’ is a slow, traditional mean and moody number of which there are a few as you would expect including ‘All I Want Is You’ and ‘Pray For Rain’ that conjures up images of the mississippi delta. ‘Recovery’ has a lilting acoustic refrain with lovely perfectly referenced guitar tones underpinning a melancholic lyric as elsewhere you get a jaunty, uptempo jazzy blues ‘Money Rules The World’ with upfront bass and a mean solo. There’s an interesting Lynyrd Skynyrd feel to ‘Never Knew You Well’ where Walter uses overdrive through his Fuzz-Tone to give it its southern rock tinge whilst switching to distortion on ‘Brother’s Keeper’ as the subtle hammond in the background underpins this dirty distorted heartbreak blues number.

Walter goes all mid-tempo on the title track whilst indulging in a blazing solo where-by the amusing traditional ‘Lifestyle Of The Rich And Famous’ features the oft-repeated line ”Had a big house and a whole lot of women and I swear that I never slept alone”. Referencing the sixties and seventies can never be a bad thing. Oh the nostalgia!

In summary: I don't think you will hear a finer blues album this year.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us